Fat Friday, General

Fat Friday: Week 17

Good evening folks! Thank God it’s Friday eh? I haven’t felt this feeling in a while, because I’ve been working for the last couple of weekends. It’s rather nice to be going into a weekend, that I have off. I haven’t had two days off in a while, and the day I had off most recently wasn’t the most relaxing. I’m looking forward to having a bit of time to relax and read, as well as having a bit of time to get odd jobs done. I’m also going to actually look at recipes, new ones, ones that use the slow cooker, to try and freshen up my diet a little bit.

Fat Friday is a weekly blog post tracking my weight loss and fitness journey, used to keep myself accountable, keep a record of my progress, and share hints & tips that have helped me. To track my progress, or read my previous entries, click here.

Please join me, support me, and help me along my way as I aim to improve my life for the better!

Boy am I tired this week. The neighbours have been on top rowdy form this week, which has meant that they’re shouting and arguing at a frankly ridiculous volume at stupid times at night. It’s kept me up. Combine that with major life events within the family, and a 6 day working week, and I am absolutely goosed. I think I am going to try and get full night’s sleeps on both nights this weekend, and have moderate lie-ins, but I do have a lot of early shifts at work next week. Yes, I like the early shifts for many reasons, but they’re a nightmare for my sleeping pattern so I don’t want to enjoy lie-ins that are too long or I will regret it come Monday morning.

I’ve not exercised at all this week and I am really starting to feel it in myself. I just feel a little bit more bleurgh, which I know comes from a lot of sitting down (something that’s hard to avoid when you work in a call centre.) Realistically I know that I could always make time to do something, even just a bit of yoga, but between work, my foot, and what not, I’ve just made excuse after excuse. I have a good work schedule to work out next week, and lots of days off over the next two weeks. I really need to get back into the game.

I have eaten a lot less this week. I have been careful, and tried to eat at a more regular time, and actually really think about I have eaten. I think it’s worked, as I can feel a difference in my hunger and alertness levels. I am cutting down on my caffeine intake, which is already making me feel better. I have also embraced water, and by that, I mean I have really realised that drinking a lot can help stave off hunger pains for a while. Who’d have thunk it? This week I’m going to try and make something new I think, look into new recipes and ways of using the appliances that we have for healthy gains. We’ll see.

This weekend is the 24in48 readathon. I went to see Star Wars this week on my day off with Mum, which has meant that I haven’t had much time of late to sit and relax and just enjoy my own time, so I’m going to use this as a time to catch up with some reading and have some much needed chill out time. It’s the FA Cup 4th round, so they’ll be football to watch, and helping my Mum, and of course, the first IKEA trip of the year, but I’m looking forward to some time to do not too much.


WEIGHT: This week: -2lb Total: -22lb

EXERCISE: 0 Sessions

MOOD: Tired

RECIPE/FOOD/SNACK of the week: Sultana Bran

HINTS/TIPS of the week: Drink lots of water


This week has definitely been a success for the weight loss side of things, but I’ve definitely taken a step back in terms of the fitness. If I’d just worked out too…oh well. Let’s not beat myself up, getting closer to 2st lost!

4 thoughts on “Fat Friday: Week 17”

  1. Keep going, you’re so close to 2 stone weight loss! I’m making a concerted effort with cooking next week, I’m looking into healthy soup recipes. If you find any easy slow cooker recipes let me know!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, I think that would be a really important and encouraging milestone! I should make more soups, or look into recipes, they’d be great for my changing shifts.
      My friend has a little recipe book for slow cooker dishes, if any are good I’ll let you know 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.