My Book TBR Jar

OK guys, so, a little confession, but, I AM ADDICTED TO BOOKS. I have too many books, and I am currently reading at a slower rate of book acquisition, so I decided to adopt the idea I have seen on Instagram, Pinterest, and on my friend’s shelf: The Book TBR Jar.

The idea is that you put all the titles of the books on your physical TBR shelf on individual pieces of paper, scrunch them up, and pick one randomly out of the jar. It not only makes you think about the books that you have, but it also takes the pain of choosing the next book away!

So, the rules first of all. Well, Emma and I kind of made these up ourselves once we had completed our jar construction. We invented a little ‘stick or twist’ ruling that enables you to put back a choice if you look at it and die a little inside. It also means you can think carefully about the books that you pick out in terms of series. I have made the executive decision to put all of the books in a series. e.g The Bourne Identity/Supremacy/Ultimatum almost like placeholders, so I will always read the first in the series that I pick out.

So, to start, I pick a slip from the jar and open it up. After peeking carefully, if I’m happy then I trot off into a corner of nowhere and start reading. If I don’t feel so great about it, then I can ‘twist’. This is where things start to get a little interesting. After returning the first choice, I choose a second slip of paper, and open that bad boy up. If I like it, then I breathe a sigh of relief, take the book from the shelf, and get down to it. If I don’t love that choice, then I can ‘twist’ again.

Now, stop. STOP. This is where shit gets real. If I am really not feeling the books I have chosen I can obviously twist twice, but, BUT, when I pick that third slip of paper out, I have no choice but to stick. No matter the book. No matter the length. See, it’s a risk. To show you how this works, I’ve done a practice round (please excuse my shoddy handwriting):

  1. The Bourne Ultimatum: As much as I want to read this series of books, and read another book by Robert Ludlum, I just was not feeling it at all. So, I twist…
  2. On Her Majesty’s Secret Service: Let’s be honest here, this is very similar to the first pick in tone and genre, and I wasn’t feeling that so I’m probably not going to choose this either. So, I riskily twist…
  3. The Horse and the Boy (Narnia 3): OK, I am actually kinda happy about this. Well, not the fact it is the third in the Chronicles of Narnia  but I have wanted to read these for a while, so I feel like it was time. Yey.

OK, so there we have it.

But, wait, I have an issue. So, in theory, I absolutely adore this idea. In practice, well, I am just not feeling it. I don’t know if it is becasue I am actually quite decisive when it comes to my next read, whether it is because I have an outlined plan of the next 15 books (its actually probably the next 20) that I want to read, or whether it is just not for me, but in practice, I just don’t think I’m going to use it. I still like having it though!

Leave a Reply

