T5W: SFF Covers

It seems like this week is all about the pretty book covers and sexy cover art that is out there, doesn’t it. Yesterday, I posted as part of Top Ten Tuesday, and to continue this on, I am also doing the T5W SFF covers to compliment it. Yey for book covers!

If you want to find out more, or take part in, Top 5 Wednesday, click here to find Lainey and Samantha’s Goodreads page.

I promise to try and avoid the cross over with yesterday, but let’s be honest, there were a couple of SFF books on there, so it probably will end up a little like yesterdays!

Harry Potter

I have lumped the original children’s UK hardback editions with the illustrated in this post rather than separate them or we could be here for ever!

These books will forever be amongst my favourite book covers, I will always hunt the spines out on other people’s shelves, and yes, they can’t not be on this list.

And no current Harry Potter book cover art post would be complete without the spectacular recent editions to our lives. I can’t wait until they actually release the third book, and I can’t wait to see how they are going to do the longer novels in the future!

His Dark Materials

I know that, like Harry Potter, these also appeared on yesterdays list, in the same way with the same editions but who cares because they are awesome and pretty and they deserve to be on here as well.

The Invisible Library Series

These books are super pretty. They have old style distressed colours in the back, and in the foreground there is clever calligraphy and little shadow pictures, all of which are in metallic text on the covers that really pop from the backgrounds. Each one has a different metallic shade, and they shiny shiny continues on the spines too, which means they look awesome on your book shelf too! You can’t get the full effect without seeing and feeling them in person, but trust me here, they are really pretty.

Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom Duology

Yes, these books are pretty, and yes, I am heavily influenced by the fact that I really loved the stories. That said, the covers are striking, beautiful, and so definitively by Bardugo.

The Crown’s Game

I have no idea what this book is about. I probably will never read it. But look at the cover which I saw on my friend’s shelf. I absolutely love the way the illustrators have put the city outline in the actual crown. I mean how can you not love this. (I hope this is actually an SFF book because if it’s not this is awkward)

What book covers from SFF books do you like? Are any of them on the list?

Leave a Reply

