24 in 48 Readathon: Wrap

24in48The idea of the 24 in 48 readathon is simple and awesome. I love the idea, and one weekend it will fall when I am able to complete it. Unfortunately, this weekend was not it. I was in work, which is naturally removing vast amounts of reading time. I am tired from the copious amounts of overtime I am doing, and I was generally weary. I needed some time to just, well, do nothing, y’know?

In my head, I am throwing words like failure, shameful, and embarrassing about readily to describe my performance during this readathon. I don’t like to do things like this halfheartedly, but there was literally no other choice. Yes, you’re right, I probably shouldn’t have taken on such a huge talent when I was in a work hole, but hey, I just did OK.

That said, I did still read for around 8 hours. OK, so it isn’t the 24hr I was aiming for, but, hey, that’s not bad. I did manage to finish a couple of books over the weekend:

  • The Counsellor Cormac McCarthy
  • The Austere Academy Lemony Snicket
  • Sin City Vol. 1: The Hard Goodbye Frank Miller

And over the weekend, I started The Ersatz Elevator (which I have since i finished) and made more progress with Noughts and Crosses.

So yeah, it wasn’t a total waste, but I am disappointed in myself, which is not a great place to be when assessing your own performance. Next time, I need to kick it up a gear, and hopefully, have the weekend off when it comes to taking part!

How did you weekend go? Did you take part in 24 in 48 too?

One thought on “24 in 48 Readathon: Wrap

Leave a Reply

