Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie! Desert Island Books

tttIt has been a while, hasn’t it. I have been up to my eyeballs in work lately. Yes, it is all my own fault, I’ve signed up to an excessive amount of overtime, and that will mean lots of money, but it has left me with a very limited amount of time to do things outside of work. Y’know, like remembering to take part in Top Ten Tuesday, oops. Oh well, couldn’t let a freebie week go past now, could I?

For all you lovely people who don’t know what Top Ten Tuesday is, or don’t know how to get involved. click here. The lovely folks at Broke and Bookish team together to produce a book related topic each week, and you simply list the top ten of that topic.

I probably should have looked back through the topics before I made my choice for freebie topic, but I didn’t. I got home super late and Emma reminded me it was a freebie week, and had written some topics down. I liked this idea, the simplicity and the range that could be done for it. The idea: Desert Island Books!

Narrowing down the list of contenders for books that I would take to a desert island with me would be difficult. Survival and hunting guides aside, this is a list of my favourite books/re-reads/books I would struggle to part with.

  1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone J K Rowling
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets J K Rowling
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban J K Rowling
  4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire J K Rowling
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix J K Rowling
  6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince J K Rowling
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows J K Rowling
  8. To Kill a Mockingbird Harper Lee
  9. The B.F.G Roald Dahl
  10. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

You’re probably looking at this and noticing a theme. I asked Emma whether I should put them all as one, but the books were never released as one volume, so I don’t really think you can. So yes, they would all be on there. To Kill a Mockingbird may be my favourite book, but there will never be a series I enjoy reading quite like I do when I pick these up.

What would you put on your desert island books list?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie! Desert Island Books

Leave a Reply

