Friday Reads: 24 in 48 Readathon Sign-Up

So it’s that time again folks, time to over-commit to reading a ridiculous amount in 48hrs for the sake of good fun and a difficult challenge. I made that sound like no fun at all. I am actually super excited!! I took part in the last readathon in January (see here, and here). The premise of the readathon in super easy and very simple:  Try to read for 24hrs in a 48hr period this weekend. Seems easy enough to attempt, if you have the weekend off and stuff. And this time, I kinda do have the weekend off. It’s my Dad’s birthday on Sunday, so there is a family gathering for that, and I am back in work after a period of recovery from the car crash, so I’d like to feel ready for that, but otherwise, I’m good for trying to read for 24hrs this weekend.

If you’re new to 24in48, this is the basic gist: beginning at 12:01am on Saturday morning and running through 11:59pm on Sunday night, and you try to read for  24 hours out of that 48-hour period. You can split that up however you’d like: 20 hours on Saturday, four hours on Sunday; 12 hours each day; six four-hour sessions with four hour breaks in between, whatever you’d like. Emma (who introduced me to the readathon) and I are doing it in our own timezone so will be a few hours ahead of the official EST start, or you can timezone convert to keep in with the hosts, it’s up to you!

This year, I’m not committing to updating a blog post as I find it takes up too much reading time. That said, I will undoubtedly post a wrap at the end like I did last time. This time, I will be obsessively updating through my various social media handles: My Goodreads, My Twitter, and My Instagram (each handily linked and also featured on the side of my blog!) And you can follow the readathon in all the normal places. They’re on TwitterInstagram, and Litsy (@24in48) and you can use the official hashtag #24in48 everywhere to keep up with everyone taking part!! And if you fancy signing up as well, here is a handy link!

So, what am I reading?! Well, I can be indecisive, and I read quick, so I have chosen a hefty stack of books that feature different genres, lengths, formats, in the hope that I keep going and succeed! I’m going to try and read hard in the first 24hrs so that I have less to manage on Sunday when I will be tired, and also celebrating my Dad’s birthday.

I’m already reading Hidden Figures and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows so they are definitely already on the list. I haven’t read any thrillers in a while, despite my growing collection, and thought they would be good to keep my hooked, so I’ve also got Stalker and You Don’t Know Me. On a slightly different note, I’ve been watching a lot of serial killer and prison documentaries recently and decided to add in Talking with Serial Killers so I wasn’t tempted away to Netflix!!

On a much lighter note, I’ve added some shorter reads in the form of the graphic novels Chew (Vol #4/5) and Sin City Vol #7, and also childhood classic and obsession The BFG so that if I’m struggling, or need a change of pace/genre, I can switch it up. I’ve also been on a huge New Adult binge so I’ve put Mai Tai’d Up in there too, which is the fourth in The Cocktail Series by Alice Clayton that I’ve been reading recently. I have e-copies as well so it’s easier to keep reading at night, or on the go! And in case all of this fails, well I have and e-copy and hard copy of A Dance with Dragons that I really need to start, and well, there is no better time!

So, are you taking part? What are you reading for the readathon, or this weekend? How are you tackling the readathon?

 

 

Leave a Reply

