20 Questions Book Tag

I do love a good tag, and once again, I saw that Emma had done a tag that I thought I would enjoy on her blog, and decided to tag myself. Tag Thursday is a feature on her blog, so I have decided to jump on the bandwagon this week with her. While I found it at her blog @ The Terror of Knowing, it was originally found here! It’s simple title of 20 questions if quite self explanatory, so let’s get on with the answering!

1.How many books is too many books in a book series?

Too many books is when you are finishing the books for the sake of finishing the series, rather than finishing it because you’re still enjoying it. I am a fan of a trilogy, or a series of books that is necessarily long (like Harry Potter) but I get tired of stories quickly if they start to lose steam (Bloodlines by Charlaine Harris), become too ridiculous (ASOIAF). So yes, if you’re writing it to simply make more money and spin that one good idea you had, that is too long.

2. How do you feel about cliffhangers?

I am a fan and a hater of the cliffhanger. I hate having to wait to find out the answer or the outcome when I know there is going to be another installment telling me, but I am a fan of an ambiguous ending, where, as a reader, I can decide which ending suits my interpretation of the read best.

3. Hardcopy or paperback?

Can’t a girl as for a bit of both? There is a beauty and a smell that comes with a hardback, all sitting big and pretty on your shelf, but there is an ease of travelling with a paperback that makes them equally as important. My bookshelves have a healthy mix.

4. Favourite book?

For the longest time, my definite favourite was To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, but over the past couple of years I’ve read some books that have closed the gap significantly: Orwell’s 1984, Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451, The Harry Potter series, and most recently, Trevor Noah’s Born a Crime.

5. Least favourite book?

My lowest rated book on Goodreads is Crash by J G Ballard. It is a disgusting book that I read because my friend was reading it and I don’t think I quite believed how bad it actually was.

6. Love triangles, yes or no?

I like a love triangle if, and only if, the following are present: a legitimate attraction to both parties based on more than ‘I’ve known him for years and I am comfortable around him’; that there is no shitting on the other party; and if it is actually relevant to the plot. Is that so much to ask?

7. The most recent book you just couldn’t finish?

I hate to DNF a book and I usually will suffer through it if I am more than a chapter in. The most recent book I DNF’ed was actually Villette by Charlotte Bronte. I will one day go back and try and finish, or restart and complete, any book I can remember that I have not finished, because it really bothers me that they’re out there.

8. A book you’re currently reading?

At the time of writing, I am finishing Stardust by Neil Gaiman, and The Long Way To A Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers. I have signed up to take part in the Harry Potter House Cup Reading Challenge, so I am trying to finish my current reads in time to start on my readathon TBR.

9. Last book you recommended to someone?

I’m not a huge recommender, because I am always scared that the person won’t then like the book. I know, it’s such a cop out considering that I love to read a good recommendation, but there we go. That said, I am recommending to anyone I meet, see, speak to, that they should read Trevor Noah’s Born a Crime because it was just that good.

10. Oldest book you’ve read? (Publication date)

I have no idea, probably Beowulf, which I suffered through at school.

11. Newest book you’ve read? (Publication date)

I really don’t know. I am really bad for missing the curve on so many book releases. I think the most recent releases that I’ve read are probably Born a Crime, When Dimple Met Rishi, and A Conjuring of Light. They’ve all been released in the previous year, that’s as new as it gets for me.

12. Favourite author?

I literally don’t know if I have a favourite author, because I flick and move between genres and mood swings all the time. I think, if I had to answer, I’d say Roald Dahl and J K Rowling (as both herself and Robert Galbraith).

13. Buying books or borrowing books?

I like to do a mix of the two, because I think there is always a place for a good library, but I am definitely in the buying camp. I like to own a large book collection, and I like the act of buying, the act of smelling, and the act of reading a new book.

14. A book you dislike that everyone else seems to love?

Errrr, I wouldn’t really say that I dislike many books that I read, because I don’t read books that I think I am going to dislike, no matter how popular they are.

That said, I dislike Pride and Prejudice, which is practical blasphemy in many corners of the world.

15. Bookmarks or dog-ears?

I am definitely a bookmark user, but I have no opposition to dog-earred pages, and have been known to do it in my time. My friend and housemate Emma dog-ears pages featuring things she especially likes, or things that especially amuse her. It makes it a lot of fun to read a book she has dog-earred once she’s read it.

16. A book you can always reread?

Harry Potter. Whether it’s reading my old hardbacks, borrowing a book from a bookshelf, reading the e-book, or listening to Stephen Fry’s narration, I will never ever get tired of re-reading these books.

17. Can you read while hearing music?

I can read with background music, but I rarely choose to. It doesn’t bother me if music or background noise is pleasant, but I very rarely actively put music on in the background. When I read, I like to relax in the quiet and lose myself in my book, so unless I have a specific hankering for a soundtrack I’m not likely to put music on.

18. One POV or multiple POV’s? (POV’s = Point of views)

I don’t mind, so long as it fits the plot. I am partial to multiple POV’s if it advances the story or adds something to the narrative, like in ASOIAF, and even better, in Six of Crows. I am growing tired of the dual perspective that comes with reading mainly new adult and dystopian literature, but you can’t escape that if you read those genres.

19. Do you read a book in one sitting or over multiple days?

I devour books at an alarming rate, so I often will sit down and finish a book in one sitting if I have time. I will also drag a book out over weeks if I need to, or if I’m struggling with it.

20. Who do you tag? (You can invite them to the group to do the tag)

Absolutely everyone. If you’ve read this and enjoyed it, please consider yourself tagged!

Leave a Reply

