Top Ten Tuesday: Fall Reads

I am partial to a little bit of autumn. I love the fall, it’s by far my favourite season. It screams candles and crunching leaves and cardigans and jumpers and boots and football under the floodlights and nights in by the fire and thanksgiving and bonfire night and my birthday and Christmas preparations. It’s just the best time of the year.

For all of you who don’t know what Top Ten Tuesday is, or don’t know how to get involved, click here. The lovely folks at Broke and Bookish tam together to produce a book related topic each week, and you simply list the top ten of that topic.

I love reading at any time of year, but for me, there is something extra special about lighting an autumnal smelling candle, curling up under a blanket near a fire, and settling in with a good book and a cup of tea. I just live the craziest life I really do. I don’t own any books with particularly autumnal covers, or titles that scream fall, so I’ve opted to list ten books that make me think of fall when I see them or when I read them:

  • Twilight Stephanie Meyer: Forks is wet and cold. You need a decent coat and to wrap up warm. You need heaters in you car and have to be prepared to face the rain any time you go out. That sounds just like fall to me.
  • The Hunger Games Suzanne Collins: The first hunger games film is set in the slightly dreary and wooded district 12, followed by a forested Arena. It just, for me, screams autumnal woods and leaves. Plus she wraps up in warm boots, which are quintessential for fall.
  • Coraline Neil Gaiman: I’m not sure that there is a single mention of fall in this book, but for me it screams fall. I can’t out my finger on it, whether it’s the creepy eyes or the slightly ‘horror’ tone, but for me it is made to read at this time of year
  • The Graveyard Book Neil Gaiman: Well this is an easy pick, there are ghosts and werewolves and monsters, in a graveyard. If anything was going to prompt you to read a book for Halloween than those things would definitely be on the list, am I right?
  • A Game of Thrones George R R Martin: The first book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series is the start of the epic story of Westeros and Essos. The famous line ‘Winter is coming’is said so often in the North, where it’s cold and they wrap up warm, that it reminds me of autumn.
  • The Witches Roald Dahl: Witches are very Halloween and these are some scary nightmare inducing ladies. Very October. Very autumn.
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray Oscar Wilde: I don’t know if the book itself is something that evokes fall thoughts but it is quite creepy and I read it in May in Melbourne (which is Australian fall) and it just makes me think of that when I see it.
  • The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde Robert Louis Stevenson: I love this story. I love the idea of a normal respectable human turning into a creepy weirdo. It’s just so good. I can imagine Hyde skulking down an alley through the leaves with cold breath. *shivers*
  • Dracula Bram Stoker: This is pretty much the obvious Halloween classic, right? I also listened to this last fall, so it’s like a double whammy on the fall front.
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone J K Rowling: From the roaring fires in the common room, to the Halloween feast, to the ghosts, to the Hogwarts Express. I love everything about these books. They start in fall. They start in the autumn. They’re just everything that a good autumnal read should be.

What books do you think have great fall covers? What books remind you of fall?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fall Reads

Leave a Reply

