Strictly Come Dancing @ The Movies: Week 3

Welcome one and all! Get you blankets and your popcorn ready and get comfy, because this week, Strictly is going to the movies. *cue music* du du duhhhh duhhhhh duhhhh du dededuuuhhhh* This week the celebrities are moving and grooving to songs that featured in film, so get ready for classic songs, themed dances, and the odd costume or five!

Last week was the first elimination week, and we said goodbye (outrageously and sadly) to Chizzy, She was fiesty, funny, and she really went for it. She was truly brilliant entertainment, and I am absolutely gutted that she won’t be in it anymore. As much as I am not Pasha’s biggest fan, he’s pretty fun and a laugh, so losing the pair of them so soon in the competition just sucks.

I wonder who will step up this week and who will stumble under the pressure? Let’s get on with the show!

Oooo movie week usually means a pro dance in the live show too. It looks like we’re going to get one. It’s just a shame that Brendan and Nadiya were so up front in a dance number from La La Land. You can’t have everything. At least Neil looks like he’s loving life, again, and that they’re actually dancing this time. I’ve heard rumours of a Quickstep tomorrow night for the pro-dance that is Disney themed. I will lose my proverbial shit if this is the case. I am excited already, not that I want to wish away this show of course.

Tess and Claudia are really nailing the dresses this year, they both look really lovely. I’m not quite so sure about Darcey, her dress looks see-through and I am not about that. Shirley is on fire, dayum! Those boys don’t scrub up badly in their white tuxedos either.

Simon Rimmer and Karen Clifton | Quickstep to ‘You’ve Got A Friend In Me’ from Toy Story (watch here)

I am a little concerned about the speed of this song. I don’t quite see how this is going to work for a quickstep. I am also concerned that he won’t fly. If he is playing Buzz he has to fly!

OK, so that wasn’t awful, but it wasn’t great either. I couldn’t take them seriously in their outfits, especially his head. It was so purple! There were quite a few bits I wasn’t sure about, but he saved it all by going there and taking off at the end. D’you know what? He goes for it a lot more than I thought he would do.

Craig: 3 Darcey: 5 Shirley: 6 Bruno: 5 | Total: 19

Ruth Langsford and Anton DuBeke | Rumba to ‘Diamonds Are Forever’ from James Bond (Diamonds Are Forever) (watch here)

I am really quite dreading this, I’m not going to lie to you. I hate the rumba, it’s just not a good dance no matter who does it. I don’t really like Anton that much, especially when he does latin dances, and I really don’t want to watch either of them do this dance. Especially to this song, because we all know she isn’t singing about diamonds…

It was as bad as I feared. I really didn’t watch whole sections of the dance. There was no hip action, it was cold, and it was just icky to watch. She was awkward, he tried but there was just no saving what is a dreadful dance to begin with.

Craig: 3 Darcey: 5 Shirley: 3 Bruno: 4 | Total: 15

Mollie King and AJ Pritchard | American Smooth to ‘Climb Every Mountain’ from The Sound of Music (watch here)

I am really concerned that I am starting to find AJ attractive. He may say he turns 23 this year but I am sceptical that he is over 12. This could, and should, be really good though. I have very high hopes for this.

It didn’t disappoint. It could have been a little bit better, but it was really smooth and enjoyable. I loved the lifts, they really maxed out the 3 lifts allowed.

Craig: 7 Darcey: 7 Shirley: 8 Bruno: 8| Total: 30

Rev. Richard Coles and Dianne Buswell | Paso Doble to ‘Flash’s Theme’ from Flash Gordon (watch here)

I love the Rev. He is just a legend. He is so committed and gives it so much effort. OK, so he is far from the best, but he is training so hard and having such a great time.

Oh dear wow this is the absolute best kind of Saturday entertainment. Look at him, he’s trying to hard and it’s so awful and yet it’s so good. Darcey quite literally can’t keep herself from laughing, she can’t string a sentence together here.

Craig: 2 Darcey: 4 Shirley: 4 Bruno: 4 | Total: 14

Debbie McGee and Giovanni Pernice |  Quickstep to ‘Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off’ from Shall We Dance? (watch here)

I hate that this is probably going to be really good. I hate that I like this dance and will probably really think that they’re good. I also really hate the fact that Emma is starting to not hate Giovanni as much as we should do in this house.

Urgh, why are they so good? BECAUSE SHE IS AN ACTUAL TRAINED DANCER. Emma said that she doesn’t even hate him as much which makes me hate him even more. That was good, and I am annoyed. Sigh.

Craig: 6 Darcey: 8 Shirley: 7 Bruno: 8 | Total: 29

Brian Conley and Amy Dowden | American Smooth to ‘If I Only Had A Brain’ from The Wizard Of Oz (watch here)

I am still a little upset that he is still here in the place of Chizzy. I can’t hold it against him. I just don’t like him. Or her, but mainly him. This is going to be a bit of a joke, isn’t it?

Oh he looks awful. And i didn’t like it at all. I am not going to lie but I just don’t want him to last. I have a feeling he may well be in the dance off again. Emma, who is back home watching this week with me, is getting increasingly irritated by the crowd. We’ve been moaning about the audience for years, but in her words, they seem to be worse this year. I get clapping a really intricate set of steps or an insane lifts, but they’re literally clapping walking these days.

Craig: 5 Darcey: 5 Shirley: 6 Bruno: 6 | Total: 22

Gemma Atkinson and Aljaz Skorjanec | Charleston to ‘The Bare Necessities’ from The Jungle Book (watch here)

I love this dance. I love this film. I love this song. I love this pairing. I feel like this is going to be really really good.

Let’s start with Aljaz. A man that looks like that should not be so un-jockish. They shouldn’t pull of a fat bear suit, face paint, and ears with such ease and then dance in that outfit. She shouldn’t look that stunning in a catsuit (well maybe she should actually). That dance never stopped and was so well stylised, I loved that. I will be voting for that.

Craig: 7 Darcey: 8 Shirley: 8 Bruno: 8 | Total: 31

Charlotte Hawkins and Brendan Cole | Tango to ‘Danger Zone’ from Top Gun (watch here)

Oh no, here we go. The worst bit about this is that we have to rewatch the travesty that could barely be called a dance last week. I am dreading this.

That was better than last week, but that isn’t saying that much really. It was a bit bouncy, and she only looks vaguely comfortable when she is in hold in his arms. I’m not quite sure she will last long. She can’t surely.

I HATE BRENDAN. JUST RESPECT AND LISTEN TO THE JUDGES. DON’T ARGUE BACK WHEN YOU HAVEN’T ACTUALLY WATCHED IT. URGH. Maybe the judges are right, Brendan, did you ever think of that eh? Fair play to Craig though, she was about to lose it again there.

Craig: 4 Darcey: 5 Shirley: 4 Bruno: 4Total: 17

Jonnie Peacock and Oti Mabuse | Paso Doble to ‘The Raiders March’ from Indiana Jones (watch here)

Last week they were really good, and I still don’t know how he is doing this with one leg. I should stop thinking about this because it’s not like he’s not able, it just amazes me. I love this song and this movie, I hope this is good.

That wasn’t bad, it wasn’t brilliant, but it wasn’t bad. I worry it might be forgettable though? I like a paso, and I like this song, but Emma pointed it out best that sometimes it’s not good when a paso is done to a non paso song.

Craig: 6 Darcey: 6 Shirley: 7 Bruno: 7 | Total: 26

Susan Calman and Kevin Clifton | Samba to ‘Wonder Woman (Theme)’ from Wonder Woman (watch here)

Here we go. The most hilarious and awesome and fun and nice couple. I just love them both. I had no idea who she was before this but I certainly know who she is now, and I bloody love her. This is going to be so fierce. I am excited.

They were costumes. And bad special effects. And Beyoncé pumping. Oh it was epic.

Craig: 4 Darcey: 5 Shirley: 5 Bruno: 6 | Total: 20

Joe McFadden and Katya Jones | Viennese Waltz to ‘Somewhere My Love’ from Doctor Zhivago (watch here)

C’mon Joe, we’re going to pass last week by and forget about it. It wasn’t your week and it wasn’t your dance. That’s OK, this is a nice dance for nice people. I have a lot of faith that this is going to be beautiful and really good. You can do it Joe.

Awwww that was so so cute. It was so soft and sweet and flowed. I am pretty sure that I spotted a fleckerl. It’s just so much better and so much more suited to him. I am so pleased that it worked. The sleeves were interesting, were they to hide dodgy arms or just a coincidental costume design.

Craig: 8 Darcey: 8 Shirley: 8 Bruno: 8 | Total: 32

Aston Merrygold and Janette Manrara | Cha Cha to ‘Can’t Stop The Feeling’ from Trolls (watch here)

Their dance last week was so good, and so ambitious. I can’t help but feel that this will be good, like really good. I can’t wait to see the costumes for this. They’re going to look hilarious if they have gone for it.

THEY WENT FOR IT. I really really liked that. It was so cute and cheeky and Janette is literally the most adorable little squish ever. For some reason it just does not bother me that I know he can dance like it bothers me with Debbie.

When you look and consider how Aljaz is dressed and acting, and then you look at the troll outfit and levels of excitement that Janette has, it becomes very apparent as to how they work as a married couple. I see it so clearly now. They’re made for each other.

Craig: 8 Darcey: 9 Shirley: 9 Bruno: 9 | Total: 35

Alexandra Burke and Gorka Marquez | American Smooth to ‘Wouldn’t It Be Loverly’ from My Fair Lady (watch here)

That dance last week. Gorka’s muscles last week. I won’t forget that dance in a hurry I can tell you that for free. I have a feeling that this will be really good too. I am hoping for understated elegance and some beautiful lifts.

Can I just say how amazing that dress is? It flows and turns and swirls so beautifully. And also, let’s just talk about his pants. They’re simultaneously the tightest pants I’ve seen while not being tight at all. Hmmm. A very good and clean dance, I liked it a lot.

Craig: 8 Darcey: 8 Shirley: 8  Bruno: 9 Total: 33

Davood Ghadami and Nadiya Bychkova | Samba to ‘Stayin’ Alive’ from Saturday Night Fever (watch here)

This is going to be filth. It’s a samba. And it’s her. I don’t know what to say about these because I don’t hate him, but I can’t help but wonder if she is a vampire.

I didn’t hate that as much as I thought I would do, but I am definitely in agreement with Craig. The pants were tight and that was to highlight the frankly unnecessary amount of hip thrusting that detracted from the actual dance. I also don’t think I understand how she get’s quite so much hair flick with every move. She’s so intense.

Craig: 4 Darcey: 7 Shirley: 7 Bruno: 7 | Total: 25


Leaderboard

  1. Aston & Janette – 35
  2. Alexandra & Gorka – 33
  3. Joe & Katya – 32
  4. Gemma & Aljaz – 31
  5. Mollie & AJ – 30
  6. Debbie & Giovanni – 29
  7. Jonnie & Oti – 26
  8. Davood & Nadiya – 35
  9. Brian & Amy – 22
  10. Susan & Kevin – 20
  11. Simon & Karen – 19
  12. Charlotte & Brendan – 17
  13. Ruth & Anton – 15
  14. Rev. Richard & Dianne – 14

I love movie week, it really is the sublime and the ridiculous all crammed into one dance show. I am super looking forward to the show tomorrow night, mainly for the pro dance. I am worry about Simon and Jonnie, I really hope neither are in the dance off, but we shall see shortly! Until tomorrow night…

….keep dancing!


Guys, GUYS, there was a really good pro dance at the beginning and it was all so Disney and lots of Disney and did I tell you THERE WAS DISNEY. It was one of my favourites ever, and it has lots and lots of actual dancing in it! If you want to watch the masterpiece, click here.

I nearly cried in panic that Susan was the last person to be saved. I think I knew that Simon was going to be in the bottom two, I even voted for him and he was still there. It was a relief that the Rev was in there with him in a way, because it saved him, but I am devastated that he has now gone. The ballroom just won’t be as entertaining without him!

Leave a Reply

