Fat Friday: Week 1

Week 1 is done, over, finito, and I have stuck rigidly to my diet! I know. I wanted to clap myself! I am starting to see results when I look at the scales, but I am yet to see any results when I look in the mirror or feel any difference in my self. I feel like I’m hungry a lot, but that I am simultaneously getting better at saying no to snacks without thought. I am also getting into more of a routine, or at least looking at my week and making time for a routine.

Fat Friday is a weekly blog post tracking my weight loss and fitness journey, used to keep myself accountable, keep a record or my progress, and share hints & tips that have helped me.

Please join me, support me, and help me along my way as I am to improve my life for the better!

I’m not going to lie to you, this week has not been easy. It’s been a struggle to say no to everything I’ve wanted to eat. It’s been hard to ignore the hunger. It’s been hard to be bothered to get up and go swimming, or get changed after work and go to an exercise class. I really don’t enjoy the gym, and I don’t like being rubbish at new things. And I absolutely despise the feeling of being hungry. It makes me feel sick, and tired, and a little grouchy.

I’ve really enjoyed the exercise that I’ve been doing, but my gosh it is hard to get up early on a Sunday morning just to go out and get into a swimming pool. Yes, I love the swimming bit, but actually getting out to do it is hard. But, not as hard as doing a 10 1/2 hour day in work and then dragging yourself up to go and do a session in the gym, because that my friends is torture. I never will like the gym, Yes, I can tolerate it, but I don’t like it. I did really enjoy my Aquafit class though. Me and Mum got our costumes on, and set out thinking we’d be joining a retirement home day out, but to be fair not all of the ladies (yep, it was exclusively ladies) were pensioners. I absolutely loved it.

Steph, my fab friend from work who is also going on a weight loss journey, was kind enough to make me a set of weight loss jars. We’re both setting a far out goal of our respective Disney holidays during next years fall, so, she has themed them as some of my favourite Disney films/characters! The premise is that you fill one jar with pebbles/stones representing the amount of pounds (or kilos, or whatever measurement you’re using) and label it ‘Pounds to go’. When you lose a pound, you move the coloured pebble to the second jar labelled ‘Pounds Gone’. As Steph pointed out, gone is more motivational than lost, because you don’t want to find your lost pounds again, you want them gone! Take a look at how awesome they are:

WEIGHT: This week: -6lb Total: -7lb

EXERCISE: 3 fitness sessions: 1x Aquafit, 1x 900m swim, 1x Gym

MOOD: Hungrily pleased.

RECIPE/FOOD/SNACK of the week: Crunchy Peanut Butter and Chocolate Spread on Toast

HINTS/TIPS of the week: Weight loss tracking jars


Well all in all this week has been a good week, a hard week, but a good week. It’s been really difficult and has been a test of my will power, but the results are starting show in numbers, hopefully I can keep it up.

If you’re going on a weight loss and/or fitness journey of your own, please comment below with support and progress.

One thought on “Fat Friday: Week 1

Leave a Reply

