#TheReadingQuest: Wrap Up

What a readathon, eh? I am absolutely gutted that this readathon is over. I loved the premise, the execution, the thought, and the fact it was getting me to read new books and new genres. I hate the fact that I didn’t dedicate enough time to this readathon, that I didn’t complete as many challenges as I would like, and that it finished before it could even really get going. 

I think the problems I faced with reading progress during this readathon were solely based on things I had planned before the readathon actually began; before I even knew it existed! I had started Tome Topple the week before, which unfortunately meant I was tied up with some books already. As Tome Topple is designed to get you reading bigger books, it meant that there was no way of finishing them quickly to crack on with #TheReadingQuest. I also embarked on an awesome week away in America. As much as I love reading, a lot of my time was naturally taken up sightseeing and travelling and doing non-reading things. I did make a little progress, but I was too tired to read much at night.

I realise that these excuses are just that, excuses, and if I really thought about it before I went, I could have just blasted through some children’s books or graphic novels to tick things off. That felt to much like cheating for me with this. It was so thought through that I wanted to actually read all new books (Well, not rereads) that fitted the challenges authentically, and were on my TBR before the readathon, and not just for the readathon.

But yes, the challenges and my progress. I decided to embark on Rogue as I thought this had the hardest challenges for me to finish and foolishly thought I’d make it through more than one character’s quest. That said, I finished 4 1/2 of the 4 challenges, and finished The Grind Side Quest too. One of the things i loved about this was the thought and effort that had gone into making different, yet adaptable, challenges that encompassed almost anyone’s reading preferences through the character quests. I also liked the fact that there was no diversity bingo element, just a small extra incentive for reading a book by a diverse author. 

I have copied the updates post I was using below which shows my overall performance and what I decided to read for each challenge. I really hope this is brought back and done again, because it was the most enjoyable and interesting readathon I’ve discovered since Bout of Books 3 years ago!


Overall Total:    Level 2    168HP     70XP


Character Quests

The Rogue: These adventurers have absolute mastery over stealth and speed, and they celebrate underappreciated books and half-forgotten stories.

  • A banned book: Brave New World Aldous Huxley
  • A book cover with a partially obscured face: When Dimple Met Rishi Sandhya Menon
    • Pages Read: +38HP/Book Finished: +10XP/Diverse Author: +10XP
  • A book with <500 Goodread reviews: The Triumphs of Eugene Valmont Robert Barr
    • Pages Read: +30HP/Book Finished: +10XP
  • A book published by a small press: Wishing for Birds Elisabeth Hewer
    • Pages Read: +8HP/Book Finished: +10XP
  • A book with a one word title: Nerve Jeanne Ryan
    • Pages Read: +29HP/Book Finished: +10XP

The Bard: While the bards may not engage in direct combat, they make up for it with their intimate knowledge of songs and stories. They will be reading famed tales and singing lost songs.

  • A book with a TV or Movie adaptation: 
  • A Fairytale Retelling: 
  • A book cover with striking typography:
  • A book translated from another language: 
  • A banned book: 

The Knight: These players are warriors skilled in direct combat. The stages within this path are inspired by action and weaponry.

  • The first book in a series:
  • A book with a verb in the title:
  • A book with a weapon on its cover:
  • A book with a red cover:
  • A book that has a TV or Movie adaptation:

The Mage: As wielders of spells and witchcraft, these players will conjure and summon their way through tomes contain magic and whispers of alternate lands.

  • A book with a one word title: 
  • A book that contains magic: 
  • A book based on mythology: 
  • A book set in a different world:
  • The first book in a series:

Side Quests

  • Potions: A book concocted by 2 or more authors
  • Time Warp: A book set in either the past or the future
  • Expansion: Read a companion novel or short story
  • Mini-Game: Read a graphic novel, novella, or poem collection
  • Animal Companion: Book referencing an animal in the title
  • Re-spawn: Read a book you’ve previously DNF’d
  • Grind: A book with 500+ pages A Dance with Dragons Part II: After the Feast
    • Pages Read: +5oHP/Book Finished: +10XP
  • Multiplayer: Buddy read a book
  • Openworld: Read whatever you want

Social Media: 13HP


So that was #TheReadingQuest!

Did you take part? Did you enjoy it? How well did you do?

2 thoughts on “#TheReadingQuest: Wrap Up

  1. I had a similar experience – where I really wished I could’ve read more than I did. Most of my books were pretty short and that’s the only reason I finished one quest line. I literally power read my last book of the Rogue quest line on the last day. I hope they do this reading challenge again in the future because regardless, it was a ton of fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just didn’t pay enough attention until it was too late and I was too tired after my trip to really power read! Well done for finishing a quest line πŸ™‚

      Desperately hoping they do it again, it seems to have been really well done and well received so…..fingers crossed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

