The Guilty Reader Book Tag

I saw another one of those tags that just makes you want to answer the questions on Emma’s blog this week. Handily, Emma does a series called ‘Tag Thursday’, which is quite self explanatory, and provides a lot of post ideas and tags on a regular basis. I’m not actually sure who created it, but a big huge thanks! I like a good tag, so it’s nice to be able to close a couple in short succession! And on with it we go…

The Questions

1. Have You Ever Regifted A Book That You’ve Been Given?

Erm. Er….I really don’t know. I don’t think I have ever given a book I’ve received as a present, back as a gift. I’ve given them away to friends and family with no intention of claiming back, but I don’t actually think I have ever regifted.

2. Have you ever said you’ve read a book when you haven’t?

I don’t think I have ever done this, and if I have, I certainly don’t remember! Well, I mean we’re not counting reading and journals for University here right?! Because if we are there would be a whole other answer right here!

3. Have you ever borrowed a book and not returned it?

Accidentally, I have yes. I have a copy of Breaking Dawn that I borrowed just before I left my secondary school and completely forgot to return. It’s complete with stamps and everything. I feel super guilty and I am very sorry. I don’t think I’ve borrowed books and not returned them, but I might of and not remembered. I think that’s even worse. I am a terrible person.

4. Have you ever read a series out of order?

I don’t tend to, however, there are exceptions. I read Lord of the Rings before The Hobbit. I know that The Hobbit is more of A companion sequel but I did read it after. I’ve also read The Redbreast which (I think) is about number 5 in the Harry Hole series by Jo Nesbo, and more recently I read Stalker which was 5th in a series. It tends to be a thriller that can be consumed as a one off if I do it.

5. Have you ever spoiled a book for someone?

I’m not actually sure. I don’t think I have, unless the person asked to know the spoiler and then is it even actually a spoiler anyway?

6. Have you ever doggy eared a book?

Yes, I have done a lot in the past and sometimes still do. I am a fan of A book that looks well loved as much as a pristine edition, and I’m definitely guilty of using the ol’ dog ear in lieu of a bookmark approach to marking my progress. My Dad used to tell me off for it and I’m largely out of the habit, but I’m not opposed to it. On fact, my friend Emma, on whose blog i saw this tag, is a fan of dog earring pages which contain something she really likes. It makes reading the book after her super fun!

7. Have you ever told someone you don’t own a book when you do?

I don’t think I have intentionally, because I’m not very precious of my books. Well, I have become recently more precious, but I don’t usually mind who borrows my books so long as they show them respect. That said, I forget what books I own sometimes, so I have probably, at some point, told someone I don’t own a book that I have sitting at home on my shelf.

8. Have you ever told someone you haven’t read a book when you have?

Is this a thing? Do people do this? I’m confused.

9. Have you ever skipped a chapter or a section of a book?

I don’t think I’ve ever skipped a chapter or section (unless rereading New Moon/Breaking Dawn in which Jacob heavy sections are ignored). By nature I am a quick reader and have a slight tendency to skim read bits I’m less interested in, but I don’t completely cut them.

10. Have you ever bad mouthed a book you actually liked?

Not seriously no. I’ve read my fair share of trash, which I am perfectly happy to identify as such. Is that bad mouthing? I’ve often enjoyed It, sometimes devoured It, but I’ll call it out for being enjoyable rubbish!


 Consider yourself tagged, and get answering.

Or don’t, whatever works for you!

Leave a Reply

