The Coffee Book Tag

So…I haven’t done a tag in a while, and decided that I liked this on my friend Emma’s blog, and thought it would be the perfect tag to get me back in the swing of things. It’s all about the coffee things, and as a caffeine addict, it seemed appropriate too. Let’s not hang around here, and get on with this show.

Black Americano 

A book that’s hard to get into but has hardcore fans

Let’s be real here, pretty much any proper hard fantasy series falls in this category, George R R Martin and J R R Tolkein to name two. For me, Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit were difficult nuts to crack, but they have such a hardcore fan base that a record breaking set of films were created from their dedication. Now THAT is hardcore.

Peppermint Mocha 

A book that gets more popular around Winter

Naturally, when the mind thinks of wintery books, things like Dicken’s A Christmas Carol jump to mind, but when I think of the ultimate winter read, I actually think of a children’s book – The Night before Christmas. I still think I can quote a lot of that, and think it is the best thing to read on Christmas Eve. Love it!

Hot Chocolate 

Your favourite children’s book

I recently ‘rescued’ my favourite book in the whole wide world from my parents: Richard Scarry’s Busy, Busy World. It’s absolutely battered, and literally taped together, but I love it. I’m not sure whether it would still be published, because the stereotypes border on racist (Cous Cous the Algerian Detective anyone?), but it started my love of travelling and new places/people from a young age, and it is just awesome to read years on.

Double Espresso

A book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish

I am not joking when I say that Stalker is the creepiest and edgiest book I’ve read. It starts with a dead body, followed shortly by a stalker creeping and murdering someone. It finished with a tense hostage situation with a person slowly dying from a series of wounds, and has absolutely everything in between. It was a read that I could stand picking up before bed, but never really wanted to put down!

Starbucks: A book you see everywhere

The A Court of Thorns and Roses series is absolutely everywhere. Every readathon I take part in seems to have many people reading, every book stack and haul seems to feature a book from the series, booktubers are talking about them, it’s on show shelves in the book shops and has sometimes even made it to the supermarkets. What’s worse? I’ve heard it’s rubbish and have no desire to read it.

The Hipster Coffee Shop: Give a book by an indie author a shout out

I’m not gonna lie, I don’t read a lot of Hipster stuff. Not because I don’t want to support Indie authors, but I am very much someone who reads once a book has made it or has been recommended to me. The only book that really fits this is a poetry collection. My friend Emma, from whom I stole this tag and the book, told me about Wishing for Birds, and even I (a die-hard poetry basher) quite enjoyed it!

Oops! I accidentally got Decaf: A book you expected a lot more from

The Great Gatsby. I expected so much, it’s art deco, it’s a little shady, it’s extravagant, I feel like I should really like it. But I didn’t. I really really really didn’t. It scraped a 2* review.

The Perfect Blend: A book/series that was bittersweet but ultimately satisfying

My favourite book is slightly bittersweet, but is a wonderfully satisfying read. To Kill a Mockingbird mixes the innocence of youth, the delicacy of racial tension, and the battle for equality and a brilliantly constructed, touching, satisfying, and bittersweet read.

A Cup of Tea: Your favourite classic

I’m not a big reader of classics on the whole, but the two that jump out immediately are 12 Years a Slave and The Picture of Dorian Gray. I read both while I was travelling two years ago, and were both incredible for different reasons. I am still not sure I have read anything quite so intense/difficult, yet rewarding as Solomon Northups story, and I’ve never read anything quite so immorally narcisstic as Oscar Wilde’s well known book. Both great!

Flat White: Your favourite book that isn’t a novel

This is going to sound super nerdy, and I 100% do no care. I’m a geography student, a map lover, and a traveller, so naturally I am going to be drawn to an Atlas. Literally a book full of places, and things, made for exploring. My favourite Atlas (the one my ex-boyfriend very thoughtfully bought one Valentine’s Day) is the one pictured. It has maps, of course, but it also has incredible satellite photos of different world cities and geographical phenomena.


As always, if you would like to have a go, please consider yourself tagged and take part, or comment below!

Leave a Reply

