Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2017

Guys, guys, I’m sad. Today is the last top ten Tuesday until the middle of August. What am I gonna do for Blog post ideas now, eh? So, before we get started, an extra big shout out to all the folks at Broke and Bookish for doing such a good job for all of us.

For all of you who don’t know what Top Ten Tuesday is, or don’t know how to get involved, click here. The lovely folks at Broke and Bookish tam together to produce a book related topic each week, and you simply list the top ten of that topic. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

This week, topic for TTT is the best books of 2017. I’ve had a lot of books so far this year, I think my Goodreads says I’m up to around 57, I have actually enjoyed most of the things that I’ve had this year so far. Most of the things that I’ve read this year we released prior to January, so I decided to just do the best books that I’ve read and the ones that I’ve most enjoys rather than sub classify by genre or release date.

Without further ado, let’s get started:

  1. Fahrenheit 451 Ray Bradbury: I listened to this book as an audio book in my car on my commute, it took me maybe 2/3 days to finish and I absolutely loved it. It’s been a long time since I thought a book could potentially knock To Kill a Mockingbird off the top spot but this one certainly rivals it. I’m really pleased that i’ve finally found a book that means I can reread To Kill a Mockingbird knowing that there is a book that could become my favourite if I don’t love To Kill a Mockingbird like I did when I was a teenager.
  2. Crooked Kingdom Leigh Bardugo: I read this book in January during a readathon ( bout of books) and absolutely loved it. Let’s be honest it’s not really a surprise, I absolutely loved the first book in this duology, Six of Crows. I absolutely love the way Bardugo creates such elaborate stories, world, and characters. I also love the changing perspective of the main characters, it adds something to the story that very few writers are able to pull off.
  3. Nomad James Swallow: I absolutely love a good thriller. I love a good lead guy who gets roughed up in a search for justice. I love a good old fashioned good guy bad guy plot. This book ticked all boxes for me, and has both powerful male and female leads, which is so rare these days in good thriller novels. I’m so pleased that this is the first book in a series, and can’t wait to read the new instalment Exile, which was the first book I ever got on NetGalley.
  4. A Cuckoo’s Calling/The Silkworm/Career Of Evil Robert Galbraith: I know, I know, I probably should have read these a long time ago, but I didn’t. I always knew I would love them, because I love a good detective story, so I’m pleased that I finally have pick these up and actually read them. It is actually better than I ever expected, I read these three books so fast, and now I am eagerly awaiting the TV adaptation that is due out later this year. C’mon Jo, get writing the next novel, I can’t wait to find out what happens next.
  5. Chew Rob Guillroy and John Layman: this year, I have really discovered graphic novels. I have often looked at the use fleetingly, or red one and forgot to finish the series, but Chew is something else. Yes, it once again fulfils of the detective element I like so much, but it’s more than that. The premise that Tony Chu can eat something and see it’s entire life history is both ridiculous and brilliant in the best way.
  6. A Feast for Crows George R R Martin: I started reading the A Song of Ice and Fire series last summer, and it’s taking a while to get to this stage. I was starting to lose a little bit of momentum and focus, and then this instalment came along. It may have been a lack of characters that I don’t like, or an increase in the perspective from characters I do like; or just the politics, flow, and story in this novel, but I think this instalment is probably my favourite in the series so far. I probably should crack on with a dance for dragons now comma but somehow it just does not feel like a summer read. Maybe I’ll take one to Washington with me in September.
  7. Sin City Frank Miller: as I mentioned earlier, I have really discovered graphic novels this year. Sin City is a large part of this Discovery. I really liked the phone when I saw it a few years ago, so when I finally picked up the graphic novels I was given as a gift two years ago, I was pleasantly surprised in all the right ways. These graphic novels are brilliantly drawn, written, and are spectacularly and almost comically violent. If you’re not sure whether you will like graphic novels, or are looking for something new to sink your teeth into, then these graphic novels are definitely something to try.
  8. Scrappy Little Nobody Anna Kendrick: I don’t read a lot of non fiction books, so when I picked this book up it was largely to fill a reading challenge. Sometimes, that is the best way to discover a new book. I’ve always liked Anna Kendrick, I find her brand of humour and also her outlook on life both refreshing and eye opening. I really enjoyed reading about the Hollywood lifestyle from the point of view of someone I like and admire. I found her honesty and her wit charming and inspiring, and would recommend this book to anybody. Ok, maybe not anybody, if you don’t like Anna Kendrick you’re not going to like this book. But I love her, so of course I loved the book. On a slightly different note, does anybody know the difference between an autobiography and a Memoir, no? me neither.
  9. His Bloody Project Robert MacRae Burnett: I bought this book because I liked the cover, the name, and because it was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. The way the book was presented as a factual account of the murder was very new to me. OK, so I struggled a little bit with the account of the accused ( mainly because it was around 120 pages with no break) but I love the way the story was presented and found that I really enjoyed such a refreshing taste on a murder mystery. Well, I say murder mystery, it was less a who dunnit, and more why dunnit.
  10. Harry Potter J K Rowling: yesterday was the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. I absolutely love this series, I think that is very obvious from this blog, my Instagram, my Twitter, my Facebook, and my house. I have read these books in excess of 50 times now. Yes that sounds like a lot, but if you like something, you’ll always go back to me when you want comfort, something you enjoy. Instead of reading these books this time, I have been listening to them on audiobook on the way to work. I love Stephen Fry’s reading of these books and listening to you then highlights little things that you sometimes overlooking a reread. I’ve only got the 7th booked to reread now, I actually managed to read The Philosopher’s Stone last night for the Harry Potter cosy reading night in. I don’t think there will ever be a day where I don’t want to re read these books again, and again, and again.

So that’s it. That’s my favourite books so far 2017. If I keep up this reading pace I will probably read close to 100 books this year, so it’s likely that the year has many favourites left. What books have you read this year that you’ve loved? Have you read, and enjoyed, any of the books on my list? Let’s hope there are some great reads to come this year.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2017

Leave a Reply

