Top Ten Tuesday: Book Series I’ve been meaning to read

Well hello there. It has been a while, do you remember me?! In all seriousness I have been struggling with my blogging, and so I thought it was the perfect time to come back and post when I saw this post topic.
For all of you who don’t know what Top Ten Tuesday is, or don’t know how to get involved, click here. The lovely folks at Broke and Bookish tam together to produce a book related topic each week, and you simply list the top ten of that topic. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

You all know I am obsessed with books, and many of you will probably notice that I have quite the thing for a book series. There are many I have read and loved, but there are also many that I have been meaning to read for months/years and have just never gotten around the starting. Here’s my top ten:
  1. The Chronicles of Narnia C S Lewis: This is possibly not the best book series to start with, because I am technically just starting it now. The fact is, however, that I have wanted to read it for years, and that these books have probably been the longest standing series on my TBR.
  2. A Darker Shade of Magic V E Schwab: My Housemate Emma has been raving about these, which has left me feeling like I am missing out. Her last true recommendation was Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom and they were spectacular so I am hopeful, very hopeful.
  3. The Harry Hole Series Jo Nesbo: I have read one book in this series, completely out of sequence. I thoroughly enjoy a good thriller, and one of my Favourite actors (Michael Fassbender) is going to be playing Hole later this year, I want to at least read up to the book they will be adapting. I’ve recently acquired the majority of the collection that I didn’t previously own from a charity shop so my excuses are now running thin.
  4. The Bourne Series Robert Ludlum: The Ludlum thriller The Gemini Contenders was one of the first thrillers I ever read and pretty much the first that hooked me onto the genre. I really enjoyed the film adaptations a while ago, and recently (finally) acquired a set of the books (well the original trilogy) so I should be able to crack on with these in the near future.
  5. Shadow and Bone Trilogy Leigh Bardugo: As mentioned earlier, I really do love Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom, which are both written by Bardugo in the same universe (Grisha Verse) as this trilogy. I’ve heard they’re not as well written as the duology released later, but I still really want to read them, and mainly to get to know the ‘Darkling’.
  6. Discworld Terry Pratchett: I like fantasy, and I am really growing into reading more into the fantasy genre, so feel like it may well be the time to start considering reading this series. I like many of the authors that have inspired Pratchett, so I don’t see why I won’t like this.
  7. No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency Alexander McCall Smith: I really cannot put my finger on what it is that appeals to me about reading this series. Maybe it is that I like detective stories, maybe it is that I like Africa and went back last year, but I really want to read them and keep seeing them pop up in charity shops.
  8. His Dark Materials Philip Pullman: Technically, this is a re-read. The thing is, I can’t really remember them from the first time I actually read them, so really it barely counts. I really want to experience these again, so I think it’s time to pick them back up again.
  9. Old Kingdom Series Garth Nix: Once again this is a series that Emma raves about, and I really like the sound of it. Once I have finished listening to the Harry Potter  series, I am thinking of trying to get this out of the library for my commute to and from work.
  10. The Bone Season Series Samantha Shannon: I think it’s fair to say that I have missed the boat a little with this series. That said, it has been absolutely everywhere over the past couple of years, and so I want to see what all of the fuss is all about!
So, what about you? What book series are you desperate to read or have never got round to but always meant to pick up?
5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Series I’ve been meaning to read

  1. I’m really rubbish at Reading series. There’s so many around at the moment that I’m like I should read that…..do I? Obviously not but I want to!
    Weird thing about his dark materials. I read it the first time and hated it (this may have been due to my mum forcing me to read them) then I read them again when I was older and ABSOLUTELY LOVED THEM then tried to read them again a few years later and didn’t like them……?? I don’t know. But I’m sticking with the middle experience because I still remember how much I loved them. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just seem to completely miss the boat with series all the time, and them I’m forever playing catch up trying to read them all.
      I can remember enjoying the first book a lot, and then with each subsequent instalment, I disliked His Dark Materials more and more. I definitely think it’s a very different series if you read as a child – looking forward to giving it a go as an adult!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

