Bout of Books: Day 2

First day gone already, it’s not long before I moan about how quick this week goes, so prepare yourself. I hope you all had an enjoyable Day 1, I made some OK progress, hope you did too! I wish I had been able to take part in the twitter chat, but Time Zone conversions just didn’t make it possible.

Today is the last day for you to sign up and get involved, so if you’re interested and want to know more:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda Shofner and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 8th and runs through Sunday, May 14th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 19 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Updates

10:05am: I had a lovely lie-in this morning. It was much needed ahead of today’s activities. I have to make sure that I have everything ready to go tomorrow. I have to nip out and get a couple of things before I go, then I need to pack, tidy, and clean, all the normal things you need to do before you go! I managed to finish Chamber of Secrets last night, and I’ve been listening to Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban this morning while I pottered about getting ready. I’m making steady progress! I have already done today’s challenge which you can see below, and on my instagram. I am an expert this year too, so if you have any questions or just fancy a chat, please comment below or tweet me!

12:35pm: There is so much to do to go away that I always seem to forget about. I think I need a list. Yes, a list will make sure that I reduce the amount of things I forget to do. I need to actually have a look at my suitcase and what I need to take with me. I’m shifting through Prisoner of Azkaban at a good rate, which is good. Audiobooks really do allow reading when otherwise time would be wasted. It’s a shame I can’t get the other books I want to read this readathon on audiobook.

18:30pm: The big long list I made at work has been re-written, I’ve been to see my Gran, my clothes are (almost) all dry and ready for packing, and I’ve read, well listened to, about a quarter of Prisoner of Azkaban. Woo go me.

23:30pm: OK, so I am pretty much packed. My suitcase is almost full and sitting in the living room, and I have a pile of stuff that needs to fit into hand luggage. That’s tomorrow job pre-travel. I have also read (listened) to more Prisoner of Azkaban, and I’m about a third of the way through. Tomorrow, I think I am going to take some time to actually read physical books while I am in London!

Challenges

There is always a daily challenge if you fancy giving it a go, so yes, thank you to J. Lenni Dorner for providing today’s challenge idea ‘Not a Font’:

Share a book cover where illustrations are part of the typography of the title.

Looking at the book cover, you know the letters cannot be recreated by simply downloading a font.

The Ascent of Gravity

I bought this book a few weeks ago in Waterstones after falling in love with the simple front cover and the description. As it is all about the history of the force of gravity (nerd alert!), the cover is very simple. The replacement of the letter ‘O’ in gravity with the moon is both awesome and relevant, and fits perfectly when it comes to this challenge.

 

World War Z

Now, this one is a loose interpretations, but the ‘Z’ of World War Z isn’t actually a letter or font, but an artful and relevant blood splatter. I don’t have many examples of books that fulfil the challenge, so I have loosely applied this too.

Are you taking part in Bout of Books 19? Yes? Great, woop, why not comment below and have a chat? If not, why not sign up here, it’s not too late.

4 thoughts on “Bout of Books: Day 2

Leave a Reply

