Top Ten Tuesday: Book Cover Freebie

When you think about buying a new book, and you aren’t sure about what book you’re actually going to buy, a book cover plays a huge part in actually making that choice. I do love a shiny bright cover as much as the next guy. I also love a clever cover, or a new take on a classic. As you can tell, this is an awesome topic for me, so I have taken it and ran with it.

For all of you who don’t know what Top Ten Tuesday is, or don’t know how to get involved, click here. The lovely folks at Broke and Bookish team together to produce a book related topic each week, and you simply list the top ten of that topic.

As it is a cover freebie, I have simply decided to do my favourite covers. Some of them are individual covers, and some are a set of covers by a particular publisher or artist that particularly speak to me:

Harry Potter (Original UK Hardbacks)

These are the books of my childhood. These are the first (and last, so far) books I ever had to have on release day or I wouldn’t feel right. They are still my favourite set of books, and probably will always will be. They are such a great artistic impression of the stories within, and have great spines to boot!

Harry Potter Illustrated Editions

So far, they have released the covers for the first three of these new editions, but have only released the first two for sale (so of course, they are the only ones I currently own.) Yes, they are linked to the books above, obviously, but they have re-imagined the wonder and the magic of first reading the Harry Potter stories, and have had me desperate to own the books all over again.

Sin City (3rd Edition) Graphic Novels

I was originally bought the first 3 volumes of these as a birthday present by someone who thought I would both enjoy the stories, and enjoy the art. The simplistic covers of these graphic novels are beautiful, and seem so detailed in comparison to the artwork within. The stark white covers are also a brilliant contrast to the detailed pictures on the covers too. I don’t know if it is because there is a lot of art and few words within the covers, but I also like the lack of words on the cover too.

Roald Dahl Collection (Hardback editions)

I think this is nothing to do with the stories, or with Dahl himself, but is all to do with the brilliant mind and illustrative capabilities of Quentin Blake. His wonderful illustrations are synonymous with Dahl’s classic pieces and brilliantly portray the character’s of his powerful children’s stories. (pictured are my three favourite Roald Dahl books)

Complete Sherlock Holmes Collection (Pocket Penguin Classics, 2008)

I absolutely love detectives, and they don’t come more brilliant than Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes. When I was awarded a prize at graduation, I absolutely jumped at the chance to use the voucher awarded to treat myself to a physical set of these classics. I searched for a set I liked, and feel in loved with the quirky mix of old-style drawings and bright colours.

Word Cloud Classics

I was perusing the books in Costco, like you do, and these jumped out at me. I love the way they look, the way they feel, and the fact that they feel durable – like I could keep them for a long long time. I started with just 3, and now have 15(ish), and I am determined to collect the whole set. The simple use of word clouds on the covers is a brilliant ‘blurb’ or description, and is also incredibly distinctive. I also like the array of colours that create a rainbow on your shelf. Brilliant.

American Psycho (Picador Classic)

This book is white. I mean, really white. If you have read the book, or seen the film, then you completely understand why. The bloodied fingerprint is so simple and yet so powerful in the corner.  I don’t think I have ever seen a cover that encompasses the book within so well.

Philips/Royal Geographical Society’s Atlas of the World

I love me a map. I love me an atlas. An ex-boyfriend bought this for me as a Valentine’s day gift, and didn’t he do well. It’s so pretty. It’s so shiny. Need I say anymore?

His Dark Materials

I actually have included two different sets here, because I love them both. The first is the set that I own and read, and really love, and the second is the new 20th anniversary edition that I really feel like I need and keep making grabby hands at. They’re just so pretty, especially The Northern Lights, which just so happens to be my favourite in the series.

Daphne du Maurier (Re-packaged Virago Modern Classics)

I had been meaning to read Rebecca for years, but nothing was actually drawing me in to actually picking a copy up and reading them. Then, I saw the covers below in a collection of re-packaged classics, and couldn’t resist the elegance and the beauty of them. I am going to try and collect the full set definitely.

There we have it, just a few of my favourite book covers. Yes, I have copped out by using collections, but if I am being honest it is often in a collection that individual covers look the best, am I right?

What do you think of these covers? What are your favourite book covers ever?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Cover Freebie

  1. I love my harry Potter books. I’m still mad at myself for buying the ‘adult’ edition of deathly hallows because my set doesn’t match.
    Also those sherlock holmes covers are so not what I would expect! I think sherlock holmes would have been the last thing I would have guessed looking at them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You can get really good versions of the later Harry Potter hardbacks in charity shops if you’re thinking about completing the set. If i didn’t have signed footballers books they would be my most precious it think!
      I know, they’re so different to what you expect. I think that’s why I love them so much. So bright and colourful yet the art is so dark. They’re so pretty, too me years to collect!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

