WWW Wednesday #2: 19th April 2017

So a month has gone by since I discovered the WWW posts, so I have decided to use that to my advantage and pretend I meant to make it a monthly thing. *shush* don’t tell anyone my secret *shush*. So, yes, what have I been reading? Well, a lot is the answer, thankfully. I have taken part in Tome Topple for the first time (for those of you who don’t know much about it, click here for my updates and info post) and it is going quite well. I have also finished some books lately that have been on my currently reading list since the summer of 2016, so a good blitz was very much needed.

WWW Wednesday is currently hosted by Sam at Taking On A World Of Words so pop over to her blog if you want to see more readers’ WWW Wednesday posts.

So, yes, WWW, well simply, what am I reading, what are you reading, what are we all reading?

What are you currently reading? Well, as I have previously mentioned, I am currently doing Tome Topple, so most of my current reads are related to the readathon. I am about a third of the way through Great Expectations. I found part 1 fairly slow, which everyone seemed surprised by, and since it has moved to London, I am enjoying it much more. This doesn’t seem to be a usual opinion, so I am intrigued to see whether this stays being the case! I am also reading the third Galbraith novel Career of Evil, which isn’t moving quite as fast as the previous 2, but is a lot more character rich. I’m almost halfway through and aiming to finish it before Tome Topple finishes. His Bloody Project has been on my currently reading list for a while now. I really enjoy it while I am reading it, and really love the concept, but the writing style make it hard for me to read much of it in one go. When Tome Topple finished I am really going to strive to get this finished.

What did you recently finish reading? Well, funny that this question is here, because as I mentioned I have blitzed some of the long standing current reads that I had going, and finally finished them. The big one (in all sense of the word) is A Storm of Swords: Part 2. I have literally been reading his since August 2016, and was only just keeping in touch with it enough to keep it on my currently reading list! It is such a relief to have finally read and finished this. The worst part, well, I really enjoyed the last 150 pages (yes that is all that I had to read over those 6 months) so it begs the question why did it take me so long to finish. Oh well, these things happen. I picked up A Feast for Crows almost immediately as a buddy read for Tome Topple, and finished it just last night. It was by far my favourite volume in the A Song of Ice and Fire series, like an elaborate game playing out over a huge board! I have also finished The Good Liar, which I found sadly underwhelming. It was billed as a con-man based thriller, yet I found it slow and dull. I am glad that I have closed that book and put it back on the shelf. in addition to these, I’ve read and enjoyed the second Galbraith novel The Silkworm (my first Tome Topple read.) I can’t believe it has taken me so long to read these books!! I’ve been dabbling in a bit of trash lately, such as the This Man trilogy, which was just horrendous, and also completed the re-read of A Series of Unfortunate Events that I started way back in January. I’m still dipping in and out of reading graphic novels such as Chew, I’ve now read, completed, and loved 3 volumes of then!

What do you think you’ll read next? The list, my friends, is long. Trés long. A Dance with Dragons: Parts 1 and 2 are very much near the top of the list. I really want to finish A Song of Ice and Fire if I can do as soon as possible so that the series is finished (as much as George R R Martin has finished writing.) I would really like to read volumes 4 and 5 of Chew that I have sitting on my shelf itching to be read. I am part way through a couple of series, so I would like to read all the books I have of those before I embark on anything new. This mainly consists of reading the next books in Genevieve Cogman’s The Invisible Library series The Masked City and The Burning Page. I have one more read on my Tome Topple TBR which is The Aeronaut’s Windlass. For many reasons I haven’t yet picked this up during the readathon, but I do really want to read it, so I am hoping to be able to pick this up soon. Maybe when I finish other series I am part way through. I am quite sure that I will read these and intersperse these with books I don’t yet own, have never heard of, or just decided off the cuff to read. Watch this space.

What have you recently read? Did you enjoy them, or were they disappointing? What are you currently reading? What do you plan to read next?

Leave a Reply

