Top Ten Tuesday: The Things That Make Me Read

Alright, Alright, Alright. It’s that time again where I remember that Top Ten Tuesday exists and squeeze a post out after work before I crash into bed. The reason that I have remembered, well, because everyone else in my reader was writing such awesome posts that I just had to join in. Because, let’s face it, why we read is pretty much the most important thing; why we read and how we enjoy it.

For all you lovely people who don’t know what Top Ten Tuesday is, or don’t know how to get involved. click here. The lovely folks at Broke and Bookish team together to produce a book related topic each week, and you simply list the top ten of that topic.

I wasn’t quite sure how to tackle this topic, and having read a variety of posts, I decided to opt for a split in the list of ten. Instead of doing a list of my Top Ten insta-read reasons, I split this into 5 narrative/plot/characters reasons, and 5 things that actually inspire me to start reading before I even choose the book itself.

  1. Holiday/Vacation: There is nothing quite like a break away to make me pick up a, or several, books. Any genre, any length, it just gets me reading.
  2. Train/Plane/Bus: I hate sitting bored on public transport when I could be sitting immersed in an awesome story instead!
  3. Readathon: There is nothing like reading together and sharing the highs and lows of a story with other people to make you pick up a book and start reading.
  4. Bathtime: I love, and I really mean LOVE, reading a book in the bath, It just feels right to relax in the bubbles and warm water and soak while reading.
  5. Nice weather: I know some people will probably question this logic, but as I work in an office and I stay in quite a lot, I like to get out and about in the nice weather, which often results in me lugging a book with me and chilling in the sun in a park or on the river.
  6. Action: There is nothing that puts me off a book quicker than a book that lacks ‘things’. I like a lot of action, and things going on, with the story constantly moving and twisting!
  7. Murder/Kidnap: OK, so this is very linked to the previous one, but specifically, a crime thriller with murders and kidnaps (as early on in the novel as possible) is a sure way to get me to pick up a book and read it.
  8. No love triangle: I have read a lot of books where the romance element is the leading plot device, or a close secondary plot in the story. I don’t mind a well written relevant love story, but the volume of pointless and poorly done love triangles that are creeping into novels this day mean that if a novel does not feature that I am much more likely to read.
  9. Heists/cons: I absolutely love love love a good heist or con story. They are really difficult to craft and execute flawlessly, but if I hear or read about a book that has, then it instantly makes me want to read.
  10. World/Character building: I love a good world, or depth of character, that when you read the back or the reviews make you think ‘I need to experience this for myself’.

So, what makes you read? What makes you pick up a specific book?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: The Things That Make Me Read

Leave a Reply

