T5W: Books That Would Make Good Video Games

Happy Wednesday guys! How is everyone doing this week? Look at this, I have done two Top 5 Wednesdays in two weeks! I’m currently taking part in Tome Topple this week (to view my progress, click here). But yes, I couldn’t exactly miss this weeks topic, could I? It’s a good’un this week: Books that would make good video games. C’mon, join in!

If you want to find out more, or take part in, Top 5 Wednesday, click here to find Lainey and Samantha’s Goodreads page.

So, video games. Straight off I am going to say that I have never been much of a gamer, especially action games. That said, I love it when a game catches my attention and is really interesting to play. So, holding that thought in the front of my brain, these are the books I’ve chosen and why:

  1. The Hunger Games Suzanne Collins: I really don’t feel like I have to over explain this choice, even though I am going to. I like the idea of this as a one person/two person/internet friendly game. I like the idea of being able to choose a district and develop a character to either reflect you or what you’d like to be in the games. I think it would be really good to have a go at surviving the games, battling against other players/friends to see who wins/comes out on top.
  2. The Bourne Identity Robert Ludlum: OK, so I love me a good detective story/clue hunting puzzle solving game. I know that this isn’t strictly just that as much as it isn’t only action, but I think it would make for a really interesting premise. There would be clues and challenges throughout as well as hints and puzzles to your identity alongside it. Or you could play as those trying to track him down. I just think it would come together really well as a multi-faceted game.
  3. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: It really wouldn’t surprise me if these were already games somewhere, but I always enjoyed playing the Nancy Drew computer games when I was younger, so I think these would make even better mystery solving games than those books made. The short stories would also make good short puzzles that come together as a whole, or just as one game in itself.
  4. The Invisible Library Genevieve Cogman: I really liked this book, and thought the parallel universes, book hunting, action, and different characters would make for a fascinating and interesting video game. There are so many different worlds, characters, races that you can choose that you would be able to play and replay as different characters and end up playing a very different game.
  5. By Any Means Charley Boorman: OK, so many of you will not know what this book is. Charley Boorman accompanied Ewan McGregor on his motorbike journeys ‘The Long Way Round’ and ‘The Long Way Down’. In 2008, he filmed a TV series where he travelled from his home town Wicklow in Ireland to Sydney by any means of transport he could (112 by the end of the show) avoiding planes unless absolutely necessary. I love travel, I love the idea of bidding for different transports, acquiring usage of them, travelling between different specified destinations. I think it could make for a very different game!

So yes, there is my list. What books do you think would make good video games? Would you like to play the video games of any of the books I have listed?

 

2 thoughts on “T5W: Books That Would Make Good Video Games

Leave a Reply

