Tome Topple Takedown TBR

Another month, another readathon, and this time it’s a big one! Yes, it is Tome Topple Time! We all look at big books and find them a little daunting, and a lot less appealing to haul down off the shelves and read. So, to battle that, we take on these beasts together, and tackle the 500+ page books that have scared us off before (or that we just feel like taking on now!)  Whether you read 5 pages, or 5 books, it’s all about tackling those bigger books and have a laugh taking part!

The next round of the Tome Topple Readathon will take place from midnight in your time zone on April 7th to 11:59pm in your time zone on April 20th! Tome Topple Takedown can be found at the Goodreads group handily titled Tome Topple Readathon page, and any progress, updates, or titbits can also be found at the twitter handle @Tome_Topple, so why not join in to?

Tome Topple Takedown is *technically* a new readathon for me, so I am going in hard, because you may as well go hard or go home right? No, the real reason is I like variety so I know that if I have a few reads to contend with, then I should hopefully have a successful readathon. If you like things extra hard, there are some extra challenges for the readathon too:

  1. Read more than 1 tome
  2. Read a graphic novel (that’s over 500 pages)
  3. Read a tome that’s part of a series
  4. Buddy read a tome (use goodreads and twitter to find buddies!)
  5. Read an adult novel

So, here goes:

  1. Great Expectations Charles Dickens: I have been reading this for a few weeks now, but recent successes in long suffering reads has spurred me on to try and engage myself with this book. I found a few copies of this that were over 500+ pages, so hopefully the fact it is on my TBR here is going to propel me to read (and finish) it. (Chal. 1/5)
  2. The Aeronaut’s Windlass Jim Butcher: OK, so this is on here solely because of Emma’s description. I still don’t fully know what it is about, but I think I like the sound of it from what I do know, so I thought this was the ideal opportunity to try something new. (Chal. 1/3)
  3. The Silkworm Robert Galbraith: I absolutely loved the first book from Galbraith, and have been looking for an opportunity to read the next instalment. As I had too many books already on the go, I held off, but this is the perfect time to re-enter the world of Cormoran Strike. (Chal. 1/3)
  4. A Feast for Crows George R R Martin: I have (finally) finished A Storm of Swords (which took an embarrassing amount of time to finish) and I have realised that I do really like the story. So, while I am in a Westeros mood, I am going to try and make the most of it and get a bit further in the series. (Chal. 1/4)

Fancy joining in to? Why not? Check out their goodreads page and join in, what do you have to lose? Already taking part? What will you be tackling this time round?

3 thoughts on “Tome Topple Takedown TBR

  1. I have both Great Expectations and A Feast for Crows on my half-finished list. And then I’ve just started Map of Time by Felix J. Palma. I’ve never taken part in a Goodreads-based readathon. This might have to be my first!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You should definitely take part. They’re really good. It’s nice to be able to interact with people on here, on twitter, and Goodreads! I have finished part 1 of Great Expectations, and have just finished A Storm of Swords so A Feast for Crows is up next!

      Like

Leave a Reply

