T5W: Top SFF Books On My TBR

Hi guys! Yes, I know, it has been a while since I have done one of these. I am not super consistent with it, but as I am going through a little bit of a fantasy binge, I thought it was perfect time to dip my toe back in the Top 5 Wednesday pool.

If you want to find out more, or take part in, Top 5 Wednesday, click here to find Lainey and Samantha’s Goodreads page.

This week, it is all about the Science Fiction and Fantasy books that we are desperate to get our grubby mitts on. With a few notable exceptions, I don’t usually dabble into the world of SFF. Living with Emma is changing that, and I have been embracing the fantasy world especially of late, and have expanded my reading horizons.

Books such as The Invisible Library, Six of Crows, Crooked Kingdom, and A Song of Ice and Fire have allowed me to broaden my SFF scope from Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings. I don’t know whether it is exposure of this literature, the fact that it is a huge part of YA that has become a massive phenomenon over the past few years, or it is because I live with Emma (which is a huge fantasy fan), but I am really starting to get, and enjoy it.

So, without further a do, my SFF Top 5:

  1. The Magician’s Nephew C S Lewis: I should have read The Chronicles of Narnia years and years ago, but I didn’t. Recently I have been staring at my Narnia books on my shelf and thinking ‘maybe it’s time’. Well, I think it is…finally…
  2. The Aeronaut’s Windlass Jim Butcher: I literally just want to read this because my friend and housemate Emma liked it and suggested it as a potential Tome Topple read. It does sound pretty awesome though.
  3. A Feast for Crows George R R Martin: I am back rocking and rolling with A Song of Ice and Fire now as I have finished A Storm of Swords, so the logical next step is to pick the next installment up and read, right?
  4. The Masked City Genevieve Coleman: I really enjoyed The Invisible Library. It had books, and spies, so let’s be honest is was right up my street. The level of fantasy in it did catch me by surprise, but not as much as how eager I was to read the next installments.
  5. A Darker Shade of Magic V E Schwab: Once again, this is an Emma recommendation. To be fair, she isn’t the only person to have recommended this though. V E Schwab has been creeping into my news feeds, and my reader for months, and I think it is about time I read and found out what the fuss is all about.

What SFF books are you looking to read ASAP?

8 thoughts on “T5W: Top SFF Books On My TBR

  1. I am very happy to hear my influence/legacy is fantasy books.

    I’m not sure as I haven’t finished it myself but I think you also might enjoy Vicious by V.E. Schwab – it has an anti-hero vibe and is about two roommates (once friends then enemies) who try to get superpowers by purposely having near-death experiences.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

