Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR

It has been a long, long time since I did a Top Ten Tuesday, and I was thinking about posting a Spring TBR, I thought it made absolute sense to combine those two. Look at me using my brain! I have stopped doing TTTs with regularity, partly because I keep forgetting, and partly because between this, T5W, and Book Travelling Thursday, topics have tended to start repeating themselves. But this was too good to mix.

For all you lovely people who donā€™t know what Top Ten Tuesday is, or donā€™t know how to get involved. click here. The lovely folks at Broke and Bookish team together to produce a book related topic each week, and you simply list the top ten of that topic.

I have read a lot this year, and I think that has a lot to do with the readathons and goals I have set myself. I have decided to read different types of books, and both stuck to it and enjoyed it. So, I have decided to make a spring TBR, to put together the all the books I want to read over the next couple of months (it is actually a couple more than 10, but some are graphic novels so barely count):

  1. The Silkworm Robert Galbraith: I (finally) read the first of these when I borrowed it from the cruise library on my holiday last week, and was desperate to read the second. I am going to beg Emma to borrow hers.
  2. Career of EvilĀ Robert Galbraith: And to follow on, I also want to read the third book. I really like the characters he (she) has created are deep and real.
  3. Jamaica InnĀ Daphne du Maurier: I saw the BBC adaptation of this a few years ago, and while I can’t remember it that well I know that I enjoyed it. I didn’t mindĀ RebeccaĀ at all, and think I will really like this based on that adaptation and my friend’s reviews.
  4. The Magician’s NephewĀ C.S. Lewis: It is just high time that I actually read this/this series. That is all.
  5. Chew vol#2: International FlavorĀ John Layman & Rob Guillory: This hasn’t arrived yet, or is sitting in the post office sorting house, but I do want to read it, because the premise is gloriously and ridiculously brilliant.
  6. Chew vol#3: Just DessertsĀ John Layman & Rob Guillory:Ā ChewĀ  is just so unique, that I know once I have read vol#2 I will be straight onto vol#3.
  7. Hidden FiguresĀ Margot Lee Shetterly: I have literally only bought this because of the film adaptation. The story sounds incredible and inspiring, as well as entertaining, so I bought the book.
  8. The SelloutĀ Paul Beatty: I bought this in a deal because I wanted to read the Man Booker Prize winner, but also because I really liked the first paragraph, so, y’know.
  9. Sin City vol#6: Booze, Broads, and BulletsĀ Frank Miller: For anyone who has read any recent posts, you may have realised that I have become obsessed withĀ Sin City so I need to read the latest novel now it has arrived in the post.
  10. The Tsar of Love and TechnoĀ Anthony Marra: My Dad recommended this after he borrowed it from a cruise library (can you see a theme here) and so I decided to buy it with a voucher I got at work. It’s a very attractive hardback!
  11. The Lost ContinentĀ Bill Bryson: While I was away on holiday, my friend came to visit and kindly gave me a copy of this for my birthday. I have wanted to read some Bryson for a while, so it has gone straight on the list.
  12. The Masked CityĀ Genevieve Cogman: I read the first of these last month after picking it up in the charity shop near our house, and so decided to locate the second….
  13. The Burning PageĀ Genevieve Cogman:…and third on the internet, which arrived while I was away. I really liked the first one, let’s hope these are as good.
  14. A Brief History of Seven KillingsĀ Marlon James: I’ve heard great things about this book, and have been meaning to read it for a while, so maybe if I actually put it on the list…!
  15. Black Water LiliesĀ Michel Bussi: I have been told by a few of my family to read this and my Mum has let me borrow her copy. I enjoyed his other novelĀ After the Crash, and as this seems to be considered a much better read, I’m looking forward to it!

What are you going to be reading this Spring? What is on your TBR?

 

Leave a Reply

