Tag: Burn, Rewrite, or Reread

I do like a good tag, and when one goes by, sometimes I like to tag myself, because yes I am that sad. I have seen this tag a couple of times floating on different blogs that I follow or have read, but this time, I took matters into my own hands. I saw that the lovely Ali @ Devouring Books and Lattes  has taken part in Burn, Rewrite, or read and so I cracked open my goodreads shelf, and began randomising the books I have read.

Rules:

  • Randomly choose 3 books (Tip: Use the “Sort > Random” option on your Goodreads’ Read shelf.).
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread (a lot like Kiss, Marry, Kill).
  • Repeat until you completed three rounds (or six)

Round One: Crooked Kindgom/Mile High Club/High Rise

Re-read – Crooked Kingdom: This was one of the first books that I read this year, and I absolutely loved it (almost as much as the first in the duology.) There is no way I could ever burn this, and there is no way a rewrite could be better.

Re-write – High Rise: I really did not love this, but then again, I didn’t hate it. I wasn’t a huge fan of the writing style, so maybe a re-write would help with this issue.

Burn – Mile High Club (Biker Billionaire #2): This is a dreadful piece of trash fiction I read while travelling a couple of years back. It does not deserve a re-write or re-read and to be fair, is probably only good for kindling.

Round Two: Bared to You/Pride and Prejudice/Bared to You

Reread – Headhunters: I really liked this book. I read it when I was in a heavy thriller phase, and Scandanavian fiction had just boomed. I don’t remember it having many, if any, flaws, and made me go out and purchase more

Rewrite – Bared to You: I think this is the stronger of the Fifty Shades-esque books that have boomed in recent times, but even so, it would hugely benefit from a decent re-write. I quite like a lot of the side characters and some of the plot of this, so y’know, I’m not going to go and burn it just yet.

Burn – Pride and Prejudice: Before you screech WHHHAAAATT, hear out my reasoning. A re-write would not do this justice, so I would most definitely not put it in that category. Austen is not my cup of tea, so when it came up against a thriller I really like, I am not going to put it as re-read, when I’m only doing it because everyone else love it, am i?

Round Three: Sunlounger 2/Fifty Shades Freed/Mockinjay

Reread – Mockingjay: I really liked Hunger Games, and while this is the weakest of the three by far, I really enjoy giving these a re-read.

Rewrite – Fifty Shades Freed: I have read these, I’m not ashamed to admit it, and I really don’t hate them. Get rid of most of the ‘same, same, but different’ sex scenes, the inner goddess, and, well, improved everything else, they would be pretty good.

Burn – Sunlounger 2: This is a collection of trashy beach reads, all short and sweet, and a little bit crap, and I may have enjoyed them at the time, but they have to be burnt in this collection.

Round Four: Nought and Crosses/Pictures of Lily/New Moon

Reread – Nought and Crosses: I have only just read this, well listened to this, and I really enjoyed it. The audiobook and the premise was very well done, and I definitely will reread this at some point.

Rewrite – Pictures of Lily: I like Paige Toon, and I like the premise of this book, but I don’t really love the characters in it and it was one of the stories that I enjoyed least by her, so I would love to get my hands on it and tweak little aspects here and there.

Burn – New Moon:  I really don’t think this requires that much explanation if I am honest. It’s just crap.

Round Five: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban/The Carnivorous Carnival/The Sign of Four

Reread – Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban: I could not possible re-write this book because Harry Potter is borderline sacred. Again, I could not burn Harry Potter for it is borderline sacred. And I do re-read these regularly so…

Rewrite – The Sign of Four: I don’t think that I could possibly rewrite this with any form of brilliance, but there are bits of it I don’t like too much, so those could maybe be re-written, right?

Burn – The Carnivorous Carnival: This is the hardest one to burn by far as this is one of my favourites from A Series of Unfortunate Events. I am just sorry it came against Harry Potter and Sherlock Holmes, because I cannot possibly burn either of them.

Round Six: Matched/The Gemini Contenders/ Pandemonium

Reread – The Gemini Contenders: This Ludlum novel was one of the first adult books I ever read, and was the first in the thriller genre. It has heavily influenced all of the thrillers I have read (and loved) since, and I would really love to reread it.

Rewrite – Matched: I read this when I was going through a post-Hunger Games YA phase, and I actually quite liked it. There a re many flaws that could be sorted with a good re-writing.

Burn –Pandemonium: I don’t remember this book, in any way. I read the synopsis to remind myself, and it is a void in my brain. Anything this bland and un-rememberable when I have read it in the past few years can be kindling!


Would you like to play? Why not tag yourself?

I’m tagging Emma, and all of you!

3 thoughts on “Tag: Burn, Rewrite, or Reread

Leave a Reply

