Friday Reads: It’s almost holiday time!

Today is my last day off before I go on holiday. I am firmly on a countdown clock until I go away, and I have just 3 days left in work! I can’t wait. So where am I going, I hear you (jealously?) ask? I am going, with my Mum, to Miami/Caribbean, for almost 2 weeks and I am super excited for some winter sun, and to see more of the Caribbean Islands. And yes, I am already planning which books to take away we with me for the cruise.

But first, I have a busy weekend full of birthday parties, work, and packing. My good friend at work is having his 25th birthday celebration on Saturday, so I will be rocking up to that off the back of a full shift in work, before running home to get stuff done for my holiday. On Sunday, I am again doing a full day of work, and then I am staying in my parents to pack our bags and prepare everything for travelling.

With this in mind, I am looking to actually utilise my day off semi-efficiently. There are things I really probably should do around the house. I need to make sure my room is both tidy and clean before I go away. I really should clean the bathroom, and properly including the floor as it is way way way way way way over due!! So those are at the top of the list, followed fairly closely by checking that I have everything to travel, and getting laundry for my trip done. So boring and yet so necessary.

Anyway, back to the point of this Friday Reads, what am I currently reading? Well, I think it is safe to say that I am only keeping A Storm of Swords on my currently reading list out of sheer pigheadedness, and I am only keeping Great Expectations on because I may give it another go before I go away, both in hard copy and in audio book format. I do wonder if my slow paced reading of this has been largely due to reading by audio book only, so I may give a go at reading the physical book. We’ll see if it makes a difference.

I have been re-reading A Series of Unfortunate Events over the past few weeks to coincide with the launch of the (brilliant) Netflix series, and I have made it up to no. 11 The Grim Grotto. Don’t get me wrong, I love these books, but I have completely stalled a third of the way through this one. I don’t know if it is the book itself, whether it’s over-exposure to the series, but I am not getting anywhere suddenly with it. I think this weekend, and today especially, I am going to make a concerted effort to power through them so I can finish the series before I go away.

I have finally started reading a little more into the world of graphic novels. Emma has previously discussed the premise of one called Chew, but as I knew little about it aside from what she had told me, I decided it wasn’t worth buying brand new and picked up a reasonably priced second hand copy that arrived yesterday. I know I probably shouldn’t read it yet, but I know I will end up finishing it before the weekend is over. I’ve already added it to my Goodreads currently reading, at least I know myself well enough.

The book I am most with impressed with at the moment, and that I am going to enjoy reading over the weekend is His Bloody Project. I bought it a while back, just after is was announced on the Booker Prize shortlist, when I needed a second book for a Waterstones offer. Yes it jumped out then, but I wasn’t going out to buy it and have barely read any reviews about it. I decided to start it this week because I wanted something different to what I was reading that was more ‘respectable’ that children’s literature. I’m only 50 pages in at the time of writing, and I love it. It’s so well done, and it is incredibly gripping…..a definite must-read at some point for all of you!

What are your plans for this weekend? Have you read any of these books? What will you be reading this weekend?

4 thoughts on “Friday Reads: It’s almost holiday time!

  1. Oooh. Holiday! That sounds lovely! I hope you have an amazing time. I’m jealously having to wait till April for my not winter sun holiday.
    I’ve heard some really good things about his bloody project so I may have to add that to my reading list.
    But most importantly, you haven’t told us what books you are bringing?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, I hope to not burn to a crisp and have a relaxing time! And of course get a load of reading done! I am planning to do a holiday reads, keep an eye out for it next week ;p
      His Bloody Project (so far) is brilliant, I’d definitely recommend it and I’m only 50ish pages in!!
      Oooo, I hope you have a good time, it is at least something to look forward to! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

