TBR Takedown 5.0: TBR

Another week, another readathon. Another new readathon in fact! This time, I am tackling the TBR Takedown, a new readathon on my list, on that the lovely Emma told me about. It is a low-key readathon held by Shannon from leaninglights (her YouTube & Twitter) and this round, TBR Takedown 5.0, will start at midnight on Monday 6th February and run through until 11:59pm on Sunday 12th. Yes, it may be low-key, but there are a couple of challenges to help you on your way, and prioritise your reading, so I’m going to try and incorporate my reading!

For more information, or to read/tweet along once it gets started, see the readathon Twitter.

I had a very successful month of January in terms of books, and read a decent amount. I have still managed to read something everyday this year, which I am keen to keep up, and have continued to read a variety of generics and mediums, which has helped immensely. I am hoping this readathon will give me the boost I need to keep going with the reading rate, and to make sure I do keep expanding the book genres I am reading.

tbrtakedown

OK, so the challenges. They are relatively simple, and easy to bend to the books I am reading. I am not 100% sure that the books on the list now will be the books I am still reading at the end of the week, but I have at least got something for each one!

  1. TBR shelf for over a year – Live and Let Die/Great Expectations: I have been reading this for the past week or so, and I am about half way through. I would really like to finish it, as it is the second in the series and the box-set has been on my TBR shelf for over 5 years. As for the second, I recently got a word cloud edition for Christmas, so have decided to give it another go after trying a couple of year ago. I’ve stalled a little, hopefully the readathon will give me a kick start!
  2. Most recent book haul – Sin City Vol. 4: The Yellow Bastard/Sin City Vol 5: Family Values: I was bought the first three graphic novels over a year ago as a birthday present, and had put off reading them because I didn’t have the full set. I couldn’t hold out any longer, so panic ordered, and now, well, thank heavens for Amazon Prime.
  3. First book in a series – The Invisible Library: I found this in a local charity shop and decided to buy it because the spine was gold and shiny, and had the word library one it. I have since seen good reviews, so why not read it now?
  4. Catch up on a series – The Slippery Slope/The Grim Grotto/The Penultimate Peril/The End: I have been reading these since the beginning of the year so that I could catch up on the stories ahead of the Netflix show airing.
  5. Out of your comfort zone – Saga Vol. 1: Emma likes these, and as I have never really strayed out of the DC/Marvel superhero, or Sin City, world when reading them, I thought it was a good chance to give something a little go.

My plan this week is to get on top of things in the house, at work, and in general, so I may not be posting daily updates on here. If you want to keep up to date, please follow my twitter and goodreads where I will be posting regular updates.

Are you taking part in TBR Takedown? If you are, I’d love to hear from you below?

What are you currently reading?

One thought on “TBR Takedown 5.0: TBR

Leave a Reply

