Bout of Books 18: It’s a wrap

bob-expert06And that, as they say ladies and gentlemen, is that. I can’t believe we are over a week into the new year. I can’t believe that the readathon is over once again. I have had a really good week, in life, in work, and in reading, so it has been a pretty good start to the year all in all, how about you?

Anyway, the readathon. How did you get on?

This time, for the first time, I was given the honour of being one of the bout of books experts. I loved it, getting to know people, interacting on blog posts, and twitter, and generally seeing how everyone was getting on. Yes, it was a busy week for me, and finding time for the readathon was a little challenging, but it was rewarding, and added an extra dimension to the readathon in general for me. So thanks guys!

I set a few challenges way back when I signed up (here) and I think I fulfilled most of what I wanted to do. As an expert, there was more emphasis on interacting with others anyway, so that tied into one of my intentions for the week. Unfortunately, work and time zones prevented me from taking part in the first twitter chat, but I had a great time during the second (gotta love a good twitter chat!)

I completed all the challenges that the lovely ladies set this week, which has been a bit of a downfall of mine in the past. I love the challenges as they add an extra layer to the daily reading tasks we all set ourselves, and make me enjoy looking at books in a different way. I also achieved many of the personal goals I set for myself at the weekend, and although I still haven’t found my keys, my room is tidier, I have gone some way to creating my bullet journal, and I have made progress reading!

As for the reading, well, it has been an almighty success. I have averaged reading/listening to over 100 pages a day, which I am super proud of. The rediscovery of audio-books has changed my commuting rituals once again, and I have read a few different books, which I have enjoyed immensely.

bobbI finally finished Crooked Kingdom, which I ended up restarting from the beginning. It took a good 100 pages to be gripped, and I wasn’t sure I was going to love it, but once it got going, and the scheming began, it was only 0.01% of a star behind it’s prequel Six of Crows. I seriously think this is the best fiction I have read aimed at Young Adults since Harry Potter. Yes, there, I said it.

The Girl on a Train was a pleasant surprise that I started just before the readathon began, I kind of missed the boat a little with this, and didn’t really want to read it, simply because I felt like it had passed me by. I’m glad I chose it off the shelf at my parents. It took me a little while to get used to the unreliable narration, but once I did, it was a brilliantly done thriller and I now totally get the hype.

As for the other two books of the readathon. Rebecca is hooking me in even though I am not sure I really like many of the characters. They are either vile, malicious, or spineless, but the plot is good and I know there is a decent twist which I am looking for. I feel like this book is one I should have read a long time ago, and that I will fly through the remaining three quarters quickly. I am also listening to The Valley of Fear and as anyone who had read any of my posts before will know, I bloody love Sherlock Holmes and that hasn’t changed here. Making it to the end of Part I seemed like a good way to finish the readathon!

How did your readathon go? I really hope you enjoyed taking part as much as I did, and I hope to see that many of you are participating in Bout of Books 19 on 8th May! See you there!

Leave a Reply

