Bout of Books 18: Day 1

bob18Welcome back guys, can you believe how quickly time has gone since Bout of Books 17?! It feels like only yesterday I was complaining about how it had gone to fast, and here we are again. I hope you’re taking part too, if not, it’s not too late to join in. We’re all low-key and friendly here, so why not sign up here? You won’t regret it, promise! I’ve been doing Bout of Books for a couple of years now, and have kept up with the readathon from far flung destinations such as Roi-Et Thailand, and Canberra, Australia, so you really have no excuses!

First things first, a little summary for those of you who don’t know much about this delightful readathon:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda Shofner and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 2nd and runs through Sunday, January 8th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional.

For all Bout of Books 18 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog and twitter. (use #boutofbooks) – From the Bout of Books team

bob-expert06And this year the lovely ladies at Bout of Books have appointed me an expert, so if you have any questions, let me know. One of my big focuses this time round is to engage more with other Bout of Book-ers after I discovered the twitter chats last time now, so feel free to have a chat at any time!

Anyway, if you have never followed my blogging efforts during Bout of Books, please check out my tag here, and you can see the format I usually follow. I tend to post a daily round-up of my progress, challenges, and any tit-bits from the day that I decided were worthy of talking about, The readathon is as low key or as intense as you make it, so it fits great around my schedule (which is heavy this January). I’ll keep you posted below about today’s efforts, and then each day forward will have it’s own dedicated post! As always, I will do my best to update as often as possible, and aim to complete the challenges I set myself here.

Updates

00:01am: I am super-excited, OK, I just can’t help it. That, and I napped earlier, so I am awake and ready to dive straight into the reading. I am in work today from 12noon to 8pm, which is going to remove a nice healthy chunk of reading time from my day, but work (unfortunately) must come first. *sighs dramatically* The first book I am reading for this Bout of Books is The Girl on the Train. I started it between Christmas and New Year as an easy read to get me back in the habit, and have been enjoying it reasonably since. I’m about a third of the way through, so I should comfortably finish it this week and be able to move onto something else later in the readathon!

09:30am: So I read 40ish pages before I went to bed last night, and I think this book is getting interesting. I feel like things are about to kick off and get exciting, and of course, I am in work. I like work, but right now, it is getting in the way of this book, and I know there is no chance to have it finished by the time I arrive.

13:00pm: Urgh, why are people calling in and making me do my job?! It was quiet and so I started reading, and now so much is happening that I LITERALLY can’t put it down. Ahhhhhhhhhh.

15:00pm: I have half an hour lunch, and people, it’s not going to be enough. I don’t have any way of reading any quicker, and I am a super quick reader. I may have been unsure about this book at first, but I now get the fuss. Anyway, reading, I don’t have long.

18:04pm: I have finished. I can now breathe, and act like a normal person in work. Welllll, I say normal (i’m never really normal). I can use both hands when I type because I am no longer holding up a book, and I can generally be less distracted. I’m already starting to think about what I am going to read next, I think Crooked Kingdom and Rebecca are the main contenders at the moment. Enough about me though, how are you getting on??

22:01pm: So, Emma and I had to go out and do a big groceries shop tonight, despite the time, because idiot here forgot about her M.O.T and needs to put her car in tomorrow. Thank heavens for my parents!! It threw up a lot of weird feelings that Emma and I share about uni experiences, I must blog about this one day. Anyway, back to my idiocy, I haven’t read any more and need to frantically clean my car out, so it’s not been the best end to the day, especially as we are currently putting the bins out. I have decided though that I am going to read Crooked Kingdom, because I technically started it ages ago and really want to read it!

23:15pm: I am finally going to bed, and although I have to be up early to sort my car, and I know that I’ll have to get the train tomorrow, and I am in a slightly crappy mood after a combined rant Emma and I had about alcohol and uni, I have had a good reading day, I’ve got to speak to a few lovely people about Bout of Books, and I have noticed new people are joining, so yey for that. I’ve also picked up Crooked Kingdom and A Storm of Swords: Part 2 from my shelf. They’ve been on my currently reading list on Goodreads for too long now, and they need finishing! I’m sorry I won’t catch the twitter chat tonight 😦 but timezones just make it too impractical sadly. Enjoy!

Challenges

Today’s challenge is ‘Introduce yourself #insixwords’. I know that technically I am beating the Bout of Books ladies to the punch here, as they haven’t officially released the challenge instructions, but it sounds pretty self-explanatory!

Enthusiastic Explorer. Loyal Scouser. Book Lover

So there we go, that’s me. I really do hope you join us for the readathon, and please, feel free to comment or question at any point! I look forward to chatting with you over the next week, and most importantly, happy reading!

Overall

Pages Read: 242

Books read: The Girl on the Train and Crooked Kindgom

Books Finished: The Girl on the Train

Feelings: A great reading day!

10 thoughts on “Bout of Books 18: Day 1

  1. Great progress so far! I’m impressed you managed to read so much while at work – I wish I could do that but sadly, retail doesn’t allow it D:
    Looking forward to seeing how you progress through the rest of the week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

