Friday Reads: It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I don’t think I ever formally declared my intentions to participate I NanoWriMo (and if I did, I must have wiped it from my memory permanently!). I decided to pull back a little on the daily blogging I had taken to participating in during November and NanoWriMo. In part, this was to enable more writing time for NanoWriMo, but after 8/9 days I spectacularly failed so that portion of the plan didn’t really help much. The other reason was the enjoyment of blogging. I used to love writing posts for different things, different each day and week, but once I was daily blogging, and joining group blog events, I began to feel like some themes were a little repetitive, and that I was viewing it more as a chore than a hobby. And so here we are, 40 days and a couple of Strictly Saturdays blog posts later, and I am back!

I thought I would reintroduce myself to blogging semi-regularly with a nice Friday Reads. After a long week at work (it wasn’t particularly difficult, and I enjoyed it, I was just physically in for a long time) I have the weekend to myself. I finished early today, so I have the evening, and weekend days to relax, and get into the Christmassy spirit, and of course, pick up a book again!

It was my birthday in November, and I hit the grand age of 25, where letters inviting you for tests and questionnaire age groups make you feel vastly older than you did a week before. I had a (slightly) extensive Amazon Wishlist to show what it was that I wanted, and I gave lots of ideas. Many opted to buy a voucher, which allowed me to choose some books/DVDs and alike to treat myself, so I went a little crazy in the week after (and a bit into the Black Friday Amazon world) and bought a few of the Word Cloud Classics that I am a huge fan of, a couple of DVDs, and finally purchased In Cold Blood.

That said, none of these newly purchased books are the ones I am going to try and read this weekend. A few weeks ago, the 24hr readathon (and Emma) introduced me to the world of Six of Crows and Leigh Bardugo, but since then, I have barely read. The sequel Crooked Kingdom has sat unread by me in the house since Emma devoured it during the readathon, so I think it is high time I got on with reading the sequel. After all, I did love the first book so there is no reason I won’t enjoy this one too.

This weekend will see the Strictly Semi-Finals (which means two dances and a new post on my blog – keep your eye out!!), Christmassy craziness in our house, and we are finally going to battle our foot ailments to visit the Christmas markets (along with half the world I am sure). And when we are not chair dancing, and fighting through hoards of anxiously festive shoppers, I’m going to sit, relax, and do very little!

What do you have planned for this weekend? Are you ready for the holidays? What will you be reading?

2 thoughts on “Friday Reads: It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

  1. Happy belated birthday. I was filling out a form the other day and realised I’d go up an age group in a few months. I’ll no longer be 18-24 and it does make you feel so much older!
    I haven’t read Crooked kingdom yet (absolutely loved six of crows) I’ll be getting it for Christmas though. So soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!!
      Yeah it is a horrible realisation, along with doctors letters welcoming unwanted tests, and the realisation you’re closer to your thirties than your twenties.
      I have it, well my friend does. In fact she has 2 copies. I loved Six of Crows, but I haven’t read it yet (mainly because I have been struggling reading, not the book itself). Good choice for a Christmas present I’d say!!
      The decorations are up and the jumpers are out, I love Christmas!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

