Friday Reads: Icky sicky 24hr Readathon

Guys, I’m sick. It started a bit achey and mopey, and it has turned into full on hot and cold, lost voice, go to the doctor to check you’re not dying, flu-ey sick. And it sucks, I’ve had to take the day off work (which, while rubbish, is a necessity in a job where you speak to people on the phone if you have lost your voice), and I have been sitting here feeling rubbish and sorry for myself, doing very little. #

Instead of doing something productive, like reading, learning another language, I’ve listened to a bit of Dracula, watched too many episodes of World’s Toughest Prisons ad Ambulance, and been up and down like a yo-yo switching the heating on and off.

So yes, Friday reads, not Friday-Liz-sits-and-complains-about-slowly-dying. I’ve read a little of Dracula today, as previously mentioned. I used the word read loosely, as I am actually listening to this when I am driving, lying awake in bed, washing up. I am really enjoying it, really really enjoying it, so it has been a nice way to spend my time commuting and such. That said, I have struggled to read it when I have picked the physical book up. Some things are just easier to read, and some just easier to listen to.

This weekend, this Saturday at 1pm to be precise for me, is Dewey’s 24hr readathon. I actually heard about this from Emma (surprise surprise) and it essentially does what it says on the tin. The idea is to read for as much as you can in a 24hr period. Everyone starts reading at the same time (no matter the time zone) and you just read, read, and keep reading, for as long, and as much, as you can. Being ill is going to hamper me somewhat during this, as running noses, sneezing, temperatures, and sore throats are no conducive to succeeding with any endeavour, but I shall try at least to do my best.

Now, Emma highlighted an issue being a UK participant in this following last year’s event, which is time zone and start time. It is so much more practical to start early morning, that early afternoon. But, we must go with what we have, which will mean starting as soon as I finish work, and reading as much as work and Strictly viewing will allow. To keep me going through this, I am deploying the tactic of varying the genres I read, and the methods in which I consume the books I am reading. I am certain that I will be driving for sections of the readathon, so audiobooks will be a must. I like to change it up to stay into my reading when I am doing a readathon that involves a large amount of reading in a short space of time, so I am going to flit between the following novels, to hopefully keep my #Victober and #readASOIAF efforts alive:

  • A Storm of Swords Part 2: Blood and Gold George R R Martin
  • Villette Charlotte Brontë
  • The Raven Boys Maggie Stiefvater
  • Dracula Bram Stoker
  • Six of Crows Leigh Bardugo

See, lot’s of variety, lots of pages, lots of things to keep me reading throughout the readathon and the weekend. What will you be reading this weekend? Are you taking part in the 24hr readathon too?

3 thoughts on “Friday Reads: Icky sicky 24hr Readathon

Leave a Reply

