Top Ten Tuesday: Book recommendations

tttI spent an entire weekend, with Emma, buying and building flat pack furniture. And playing a little hockey, This has meant that the house is messy, but more organised. It also was the end of my impromptu week off work, and the start of a small run of late finished at work. Busy times.

For all you lovely people who don’t know what Top Ten Tuesday is, or don’t know how to get involved. click here. The lovely folks at Broke and Bookish team together to produce a book related topic each week, and you simply list the top ten of that topic. Fun, eh?

So, with that in mind, I have less time to blog this week. I still want to blog regularly, I want to keep up with the daily posts, and I want to keep up with the TTT world. This week, I have done less padding out than I would usually do, it’s more of a brief list. This week’s theme is book recommendations, books that other bloggers, friends, teachers, anyone has recommended that you read, so the first 5 is books I’ve been recommended and read, and the second 5 is books I have yet to read that I have been recommended (almost all by Emma):

  1. Pride and Prejudice Jane Austen: Everyone, but mainly my Dad. Pretty much everyone had told me to read this over the years, the main voice being that of my Dad. Pride and Prejudice is his favourite book!
  2. The Da Vinci Code Dan Brown: My Mum. I can remember when this was the book to read, Mum told me to read it because she thought I would like it. She wasn’t wrong.
  3. The Vampire Academy Richelle Mead: Jade (my awesome travel buddy): She was re-reading this while we lived in Thailand and she told me to try it. 12 books later….
  4. The Hunger Games Suzanne Collins: Tumblr: I don’t feel like this requires much explanation, but when I discovered Tumblr, Jennifer Lawrence had just been cast and the internet was going crazy for the books.
  5. Gone Girl Gillian Flynn: Melissa (fellow traveller). I was in Laos when one of our travel party Melissa finished reading this and said I had to pick it up. So I did. It was good, not great. I enjoyed it.
  6. Rebecca Daphne du Maurier: Emma (housemate) This is one of Emma’s favourite books, and is near the top of my 2016 TBR.
  7. The Raven Boys Maggie Stiefvater: Emma (bibliophile) This is a series that Emma, and one of the folks on twitter recommended to me during a twitter chat a couple of weeks ago.
  8. Northanger Abbey Jane Austen: Emma (bookshelf extraordinaire) I want to read more Austen, and Emma thinks this is the one I would most enjoy. Plus, she just re-read it so it is fresh in my mind.
  9. Six of Crows Leigh Bardugo: Emma (literary influencer) I am not sure that she knows she has recommended it, but she really loved it, so I now want to read it.
  10. Animal Farm George Orwell: My brother. I have read 1984 and have been meaning to read this for a while, my brother helpfully reminded me to read it in South Africa.

What would you put on your list? What is the best recommendation you have ever had? What book would you recommend?

 

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book recommendations

Leave a Reply

