Book Travelling Thursday: Happy World Smile Day!

3in1-roald-dahlI’ve left it a little late to post today. I’d love to say it was because I was thinking hard about this week’s theme, but in reality, it was because I spent it on the phone to my Aunt, watching Gilmore Girls, going to the opticians (I apparently have very nice and oxygenated corneas??) and finally, going to Dobbie’s Garden Centre Christmas Evening.

Catía and Danielle set Book Travelling Thursday up with the intention of choosing a single book to encompass the theme of the week, that changes and is posted on the dedicated Goodreads group found here. 

Today, to celebrate World Smile Day, the theme is a book that recently made you smile. I recently re-read The BFG by Roald Dahl (again) and realised how much I love it. It has a great mix of fantastical beasts, wonderful dreaming, and adventure, that is as exciting to read now as it was when I was a child.

There are so many covers of The BFG floating around, that I thought I would start off with my least favourites first:

bfg the-bfg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Most of the other covers incorporate Quentin Blake’s art work in some way, and they are probably my favourites as they are the most similar to the 3-in-1 copy I had (have):

the-bfg-book-cover 51kxjsj8ml bfg-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

A special token mention goes to this simple covet. Rather than featuring the famous drawings, or the size differential of the two leads, it features the dream blower that he uses to send the good dreams to children:

bfg-dreams

What book have you read recently that made you smile? What books cheer you up?

Leave a Reply

