Adulting: Wage Slips

I’ve decided to blog about the highs, the lows, and the in-betweens, of going my own way, morphing from childhood to adultdom. So, every Monday I am going to welcome the week with a post all about Adulting. This week, my post is pretty much the reaction to receiving my pay slip last Friday. They should include reading a payslip at school, along with things like transitioning to adult calendars, and what to put in an adult packed lunch. (I think I have enough moans and groans about what was missing from the school curriculum to fill a future post….)

Ever since I turned sixteen, I have had jobs. Some have been full time, some part time, but for almost the entire time since I was doing my GCSE’s, I have been employed.  Throughout that time, I have always known approximately how much I should get for each shift that I worked, and have therefore always known about the amount to expect when I got paid at the end of the month.  Because I have always known this, and checked this against my bank, I have had a slight disregard for wage slips.

Now, that is not to say I have completely ignored them. I used to glance over them once a month, or whenever I received them, and used to have a closer look at my P60 at the end of the year. Wage Slips for me were usually correct, and simply a way to track how much I was due back as a tax refund.

Since I have started working for Avios, I have started to pay more attention to the way my wage slip works.  For the first time in my working life, I am correctly paying tax and national insurance. On top of that, I have also started paying my student loan back in small increments. This is before I even start to factor in a pension into the equation. The only way to track how much I am paying out from my wages each month is to track them on my wage slip, so i have finally had to keep an eye on these things.

Not only do I need to keep an eye on what goes out, but I also need to keep an eye on what goes in. That sounds like a better task, and to be fair it is a nicer thing, but it does mean you realise how much you don’t take home. I work in a job where overtime, commission, and holiday uplift pay enter into your pay slip each month, as a differing amount, under different lines on my pay slip. I never understand how I have made what I have made, or where it comes from.

I have decided to try and keep a track on what I am paying into different things, and to work out where the money I have earned has gone. I’ve realised how important it is going to be to track things like how much of my student loan I have paid off, or vaguely how much I have paid into the pension fund I will eventually claim when I eventually retire. We’ll see how this big plan to track money goes.

Sigh…adulthood is hard work guys!

One thought on “Adulting: Wage Slips

Leave a Reply

