T5W: Gateway Books

118368Today is my Gran’s 80th birthday. The family were all up at the weekend, so we did most of our celebrating then, but the actual day is today. Guess which idiot forgot her present when she went round to see her? Yep, you guessed right, moi. Not only did I forget it, oh no, that would be easy to do. I walked over it to get my handbag and keys, twice. How am I trusted to survive?

If you want to find out more, or take part in, Top 5 Wednesday, click here to find Lainey and Samantha’s Goodreads page.

Top 5 Wednesday is a very simple concept. Look on the T5W goodreads page, find out the topic, pick your top 5, and blog about it. It does seem like a really simple concept, it’s just, I’m struggling to do T5W and TTT every week without feeling like there is a repetitive element to my regular posts. I don’t want to bleat and moan too much, because the ideas are great, and I don’t want it to seem like I am complaining about those great people who create the topics. It’s probably more a reflection on the limited amount of books I have read and own.

So I have ever so slightly tweaked this topic off the back of my comments. I did a similar TTT in the past couple of weeks, so instead of doing a favourite genre, I am doing one I like that I also think is underrated or just under-read: travel!

  1. by-nay-meansBy Any Means Charley Boorman: I got this book as an award when I was 14 in school. Well, we got a book voucher with which we had to go and choose a book we wanted, that was later presented at Prizegiving. I had watched the TV show and really wanted to read about Boorman’s experiences. It is an account of his trip from Wicklow, Ireland to Sydney, Australia. and as the title suggests, it is by any means necessary. From Tuk Tuk to train, and bus to balloon, only using a plane when absolutely necessary.
  2. karlpilkAn Idiot Abroad: The Travel Diaries of Karl Pilkington Karl Pilkington: For any of you who have not seen An Idiot Abroad, your life has not been enriched by the glory that is Karl travelling the world, rather than sitting in his caravan in Portmadog. His dry wit, and disregard for some of the world’s greatest wonders is glorious, and the book is interspersed with brilliant pictures of his trips.
  3. billbrysonNotes from a Small Island Bill Bryson: This is the only Bill Bryson book that I have actually read so far and it’s all about Bryson’s trip to Britain. It’s both a great guide and tribute to Britain (and all that is ”Britainy”), and is fairly relentless in it’s humour. I haven’t read any of his other books, but his travel themes and books on different places should be a good read if they are even a patch on this one.
  4. ewanLong Way Round: Chasing Shadows Across the World Ewan McGregor, Charley Boorman, Robert Uhlig: This is the book counterpart for best friends Charley Boorman and Ewan McGregor’s trip around the world on their motorbikes. It’s a really good trip through some interesting places, and captures their friendship amazingly. The show is a pretty good watch as well if you get the chance.
  5. 1000places1000 Places To See Before You Die Patricia Schultz: This is really the bucket list bible for all explorers, adventurers, thrill seekers, or anyone who has wanderlust and isn’t sure where they want to go. At the very least it is a great coffee table conversation starter.

What book would you choose as a gateway into the travel genre? What book would you choose as a gateway to your favourite genre?

 

Leave a Reply

