Top Ten Tuesday: Fall TBR

tttThe weather has turned, the temperature has dropped, and it is perpetually grey outside: autumn has officially arrived guys! This means jumpers, and boots, and cardigans, and fires, and coats, and Strictly. And with fall comes great TV, and Christmas shopping. Yes, the dreaded ‘C’ word this early in the year (we’re less than 100 days away though now guys!). With all these distractions, I need to set some reading targets, so this week’s TTT has come at an opportune moment.

For all you lovely people who don’t know what Top Ten Tuesday is, or don’t know how to get involved. click here. The lovely folks at Broke and Bookish team together to produce a book related topic each week, and you simply list the top ten of that topic. Easy, even when you have work and relocation activities all day!

I have never been a huge fan of TBR lists, just because I have a bad habit of reading something else, or neglecting reading all together. That said, I need to set some reading targets, so a fall TBR is probably exactly what I need. I have been struggling quite a lot with fantasy (namely A Storm of Swords) in the past few weeks and as a result have neglected reading almost entirely. In an effort to keep on with #readASOIAF, but also read more in general, I’ve decided to compile an eclectic TBR:

  1. A Feast for Crows George R R Martin: I still haven’t finished A Storm of Swords, so this may not happen if I am honest, but I am determined to finish #readASOIAF. Maybe a break from the series will do me good.
  2. A Dance with Dragons George R R Martin: Emma is way ahead of me, and also doing #readASOIAF, so her progress and my stubbornness is propelling me to try and finish. If I though A Feast of Crows was optimistic….
  3. Rebecca Daphne du Maurier: I have wanted to read this for a while, and then I bought some pretty covered du Maurier books, so I wanted to read it more. And then Emma moved in and it’s one of her favourite books, so I pretty much have to read it now.
  4. The Good Liar Nicholas Searle: I only bought this book because I was in Waterstone, and there was a buy one get one half price offer, and I couldn’t therefore buy just one book. It was on a table to the side with a review on, and I read the blurb and was hooked.
  5. After the Crash Michel Bussi: This was the purchase that prompted the purchase of the above book. I have wanted to read Black Water Lillies since I saw it advertised and then read that this book has good reviews.
  6. Northanger Abbey  Jane Austen: Emma has been plowing through this really quickly, and I would like to read another Austen novel, so decided to add this one to the list.
  7. Black Water Lillies Michel Bussi: My Dad got this for his birthday, and it was on my second half of the year release TBR, so it makes sense that it is now on my fall TBR too. Once my parents are back from their cruise I will have to see if I can borrow it.
  8. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Script J K Rowling: This one isn’t even released yet, I don’t think it is out until November, but I still want to read it badly. November still classifies as Fall right?
  9. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde Robert Louis Stevenson: I bought a pretty word cloud copy of this book from Costco a few months back, and I just really fancy reading it. I don’t know why but I do.
  10. The Raven Boys Maggie Stiefvater: This isn’t on my list because of anything other than the #BAMFChat twitter chat last weekend and Emma’s passionate sale. I thought I’d give it ago.

What are you reading this fall?

Leave a Reply

