Tag: The NY Times by the Book

I stole this little NY Times tag off Emma, and thought I would do a nice, easy Tag for a Saturday morning. It made me think much more than I would have liked it too before work!! As she said, the creator of this tag, Marie, devised it around the questions asked of writers in the New York Times’ By The Book column, which means that lots of diverse and interesting answers are produced! 

  1. What book is on your nightstand now? I have 3 books on my nightstand at the moment: A Storm of Swords Part 2 (George R R Martin), Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (J K Rowling) and The Various (Steve Augarde)
  2. What was the last truly great book that you read? The last truly great book – 1984 by George Orwell. It was brilliant.
  3. If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know? As much as To Kill a Mockingbird is my favourite book, I’d meet J K Rowling. I’d just like to have a long chat about the Harry Potter World, in depth with someone who knows it better than anyone else.
  4. What books might we be surprised to find on your shelves? I literally have everything from The Bible to Fifty Shades of Grey and Roald Dahl to Poetry. Classics, modern, lots of things on there.
  5. How do you organise your personal library? I organise by genre, by collections and by genre, and then within those I organise alphabetically.
  6. What book have you always meant to read and haven’t got round to yet? Anything you feel embarrassed never to have read? The list of things I am embarrassed I haven’t read is hugely long, but the book I keep meaning to read and never have is Animal Farm!
  7. Disappointing, over-rated, just not good: what book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t? Do you remember the last book you put down without finishing? I don’t tend to start books and not finish them, it’s a thing I have. I wouldn’t go as far as to say OCD but… I read that many books I am disappointed about quite a few.
  8. What kinds of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of? I am drawn to anything, it depends on my mood. I go through phases, be it thriller, romance, action, fantasy YA. Pretty much the only thing I stay clear of is sci-fi.
  9. If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be? Oh gosh, I have no idea. It would probably be a kid’s book, because they are my favourite. Maybe the BFG, to remind him of the innocence of youth and the power of dreams.
  10. What do you plan to read next? For now, I just want to finish the 3 books on my nightstand. After that, it will most likely be A Feast of Crows and some sort of fast paced crime thriller.

Why don’t you tag yourself and have a go?

 

 

Leave a Reply

