T5W: Books you want to see as TV shows

118368This might be my favourite Top 5 Wednesday yet. And to keep me on a roll with my routine blogging, it’s brilliant. What could be better for a book lover and TV fanatic than books you’d like to see as TV shows, eh?

If you want to find out more, or take part in, Top 5 Wedneday, click here to find Lainey and Samantha’s Goodreads page.

As anyone who has read this blog, or know me well will realise, I am quite the TV fan. I have a pretty incredible ability to marathon a series I get into (one could almost call is a super-power). I feel like the issue with this T5W is going to be narrowing the list down to 5. There are so many great books, and book collections that would make awesome mini-series or TV shows!

  1. His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman: Let’s be honest here, the film was dreadful. Game of Thrones has proven that good fantasy can work on the TV, so why not erase the horrendous memory of watching The Golden Compass and do the books justice with a good series.
  2. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket: This is slightly cheating, because I know they are in the process of making this for Netflix, but again, we need a good TV series to wipe out the unfortunately poor spectacle that was the Jim Carrey film.
  3. Payne and Jones Series by Chris Kuzneski: I love me some crime books and TV, and I love a good dramatic TV show. Payne and Jones would be great characters for an ongoing show, and the levity and camaraderie the pair have would be awesome on the screen.
  4. Tales of Beedle the Bard by J K Rowling: I just love Harry Potter, OK?! And I think in the right hands, the stories within this book could make a really great mini-series for children and adults who want to pretend they’re still children to enjoy such delights.
  5. Paige Toon: Right, I have just bolded the author because her books are all separate, kind of, They all interlink with peripheral characters, and I think it would be cool to have a set of mini-series for each book, and then for each mini-series to slightly overlap just like the books do.

Are there any books, or series, that you would love to get a TV show? Or are there any you would love to see re-made?

Leave a Reply

