Happy Roald Dahl Day

roald-dahlI love books.

I love stories.

I love different worlds.

I love different people.

Very few people ever have, or ever will, combine these elements to create so many wonderfully weird children’s novels.

Many moons ago, when I really discovered reading and curling up in bed with a book, I can remember reading a book. The book contained 3 different stories by one man: The BFG, Matilda, and George’s Marvelous medicine. Not only were they fantastical, and ridiculous, and silly, but they were happy and engaging. Many (hundreds) books have come and gone since, but few have stayed with me like the stories of Roald Dahl.

I do love a good children’s book (anyone who reads this blog – ever – will know that by now). Roald Dahl does something more with a story than just tell it to kids. He makes the characters both complex and real. He creates scenarios that flip fears into laughter and world’s so crazy they’re hard to imagine, until they’re described to you. And while each story is different, and each story magical in it’s own right, they all have the warmest of feelings.

I can never choose a favourite between The B.F.G and Matilda, it would depend on which day you caught me on. I want to own a dream jar, and I want to be able to move things with my mind, even at this age. Yet despite my love of Roald Dahl, I don’t love all of his books. In addition to my precious 3-in-1 collection, I had a paperback Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Willy Wonka and the Great Glass Elevator. Yes I love sweets, and chocolate especially, but that is about all I loved in these stories (or films for that matter).

We all have our dislikes and our loves when it comes to novels. When it comes to Roald Dahl, his imaginative genius created so many spectacular stories that he will, hopefully, survive in the lives of children everywhere for many more years to come.

What is your favourite Roald Dahl book, or film?

 

One thought on “Happy Roald Dahl Day

Leave a Reply

