Tag: Book Scavenging

I have been looking at my bookshelves for a few weeks trying to work out how to arrange my books and DVD’s when my friend moves in. To take a break, I thought I would visit my parents house (because that is where the TV is that has Sky Sports is, and y’know, football) and write some blog posts. Instead of writing with a travel theme, I re-stumbled across Emma’s post, and decided I would do a book scavenger hunt of my own.

The premise is pretty simple. I have a look at the instructions from this stolen tag, and find a book or author that fulfills it. While my book collection is growing nicely, I am shamelessly taking advantage of my parent’s bookshelves while I write this too!

Find an author’s name or title with the letter Z in it: White Teeth by Zadie Smith is another book that my Dad really likes, and was the instant choice.

Find a book with a key on it: This possibly took the longest to find on my shelves, but E L James’ Fifty Shades Freed features a key on a chain. I knew there was a reason I never get rid of any books.

Find something on your bookshelf that’s not a book: My book shelves are littered with important trinkets that I have collected from birthdays, special occasions, and travelling, from candles to Ostrich eggs and boomerangs to volcanic ash.

Find the oldest book on your shelf: Most of the books on my shelves are new, or newish, in terms of the physical age of the book, however, in terms on inception or publication, I think the bible is probably the oldest book I own.

Find a book with a girl on the cover: A tag or post could never go by without featuring a little Roald Dahl, so Matilda is naturally the book I choose for this one. So good.

Find a book with a boy on the cover: And to continue the theme just one instruction more, George’s Marvellous Medicine!

Find a book that has an animal in it: A A Milne’s Winnie the Pooh and Friends boxset sits proudly on my ‘children’s book’ shelf, and as well all know, the books kinda features a few awesome animals.

Find a book with a male protagonist: Many of the crime books and thrillers i read have male protagonists, and one of my favourites is James Twining’s The Double Eagle.

Find a book with only words on it: I have begun a collection of some of the word cloud classics. These books feature only important descriptive words from the novels within on the cover, my copy of Dracula by Bram Stoker being my favourite

Find a book with illustrations in it: My parent’s own really nice versions of Tolkien’s The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings which feature beautiful illustrations throughout.

Find a book with gold lettering: Not only does the cover of Lamentation by C.J. Sansom feature gold lettering, but it is written in a very old style font which is pretty cool too.

Find a diary (true or false): An Idiot Abroad: The Travel Diaries of Karl Pilkington. I feel like this one is quite self explanatory.

Find a book written by someone with a common name (like Smith): Alexander McCall Smith wrote The No. 1 Ladies Detective agency series, and the first book I noticed on the shelf was the fifth book, The Full Cupboard of Life.

Find a book that has a close up of something on it: Natasha Walter’s A Quiet Life has a lovely close up of a pair of gloved hands holding an old camera, and George Orwell’s 1984 has a close up shot of an eye.

Find a book on your shelf that takes place in the earliest time period: Most of the books I read take place in the present, or close to present, day, so the oldest comes from my parents shelves and is Shakespeare’s Anthony and Cleopatra.

Find a hardcover book without a jacket: A Series of Unfortunate Events are all mini hardbacks but my favourite is the second, The Reptile Room.

Find a teal/turquoise coloured book: I have never read this book, but my Dad really enjoys books by Ben Elton and High Society has a very bright teal cover. It doesn’t half stand out on the bookshelf.

Find a book with stars on it: New Scientist’s book Nothing, edited by Jeremy Webb has a cover featuring nothing but stars on a black sky.

Find a non YA book: The Gemini Contenders by Robert Ludlum was one of the first properly adult books I read, and is far from everything in the YA genre.

Find the longest book you own: Having had a good look at my own shelves for this, I think it might well be J K Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. Most of my books are between 300 and 500 pages.

Find the shortest book you own: Ruling out some of the children’s books I own that I simply won’t throughout due to memories, to shortest book I own may well be Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson.

Find a book with multiple PoVs: The whole A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R R Martin features different points of view, but as it was the one I enjoyed most, A Clash of Kings will do nicely for this.

Find a shiny book: Bring up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel has a cover that is not just shiny, but it is gold. Very cool.

Find a book with flowers on it: To end on a rubbish book note, New Moon by Stephanie Meyer has a lovely flower on it.

So there we have a lovely little (or actually quite long) book tag for a Saturday evening. Why don’t you scavenge through your bookshelves and take part, or just pop a comment below?

 

Leave a Reply

