Top Ten Tuesday: Back to School Freebie

tttI can’t believe the summer has already been and that it is back to school season already. Before I know it, Hallowe’en will have happened and we will be on the final stretch to Christmas (too soon?!)

For all you lovely people who don’t know what Top Ten Tuesday is, or don’t know how to get involved. click here. The lovely folks at Broke and Bookish team together to produce a book related topic each week, and you simply list the top ten of that topic. Easy Peasy.

This week, the Top Ten Tuesday theme is back to school (hence the minor freak out). The vague description said as follows:

Back To School Freebie — anything “back to school” related like 10 favorite books I read in school, books I think should be required reading, Required Reading For All Fantasy Fans, required reading for every college freshman, Books to Pair With Classics or Books To Complement A History Lesson, books that would be on my classroom shelf if I were a teacher.

I wasn’t entirely sure what I thought I would do this week, but as I don’t remember a lot of what I read at school as compulsory reading, and I’m useless as pairing books with others or situations, I decided to opt for the last suggestion on there – Books that would be on my classroom shelf if I were a teacher.

They’re not necessarily academic, or serious books. There is a mixture of fiction and non-fiction, adult and children’s books. They are books that I have enjoyed and either have learnt something, or made me feel something. They are also fairly representative of things I do and don’t like, so it wouldn’t be the worst way for theoretical students to learn about what I like either, and show a wide ranging set of subject matters. Here they are:

  1. To Kill a Mockingbird Harper Lee
  2. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas John Boyne
  3. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  4. His Dark Materials Philip Pullman
  5. Atlas of the World The Royal Geographic Society
  6. Harry Potter J K Rowling
  7. By Any Means Charley Boorman
  8. V for Vendetta Alan Moore
  9. Matilda Roald Dahl
  10. Encyclopedia Britannica

What would you have on your classroom shelf? Are you a teacher, what do you have in your classroom at school?

 

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Back to School Freebie

Leave a Reply

