Bout of Books 17: Day 2

bout of booksThis is why I love Bout of Books. It goes so quick and I enjoy it every time. Day 2 is here already!! I really did not have a good day yesterday so today, I need to read, read, read! I think I am going to try and finish Part 1 of a Storm of Swords today, but with work we will see how that goes!

Updates

6:30am: Up bright and early for work, so absolutely no reading done yet. I haven’t even looked at a book. I am taking Part 1 of ASoS to work though, so hopefully something will happen.

1:oopm: Disaster, I forgot my book. Not only did I forget it, but I was on lunch on my own for an hour, and work wasn’t busy at all, so I know I could have probably made serious progress, if not finished, A Storm of Swords Part 1. Oh well, I am hoping to be able to read when I get home. Hopefully I can shift through the rest of the book before Emma comes to visit tomorrow!

6:30pm: I’m home after work, I’ve had my dinner, and I have done the challenge for today (which you can see below). I have also (finally) read a little bit, around 30 pages, of A Storm of Swords Part 1. I know that this really doesn’t sound like much, but it leaves me with just 20 pages left, which I am hoping to read tonight before bed.

9:00pm: I have read the remaining pages of A Storm of Swords part 1, which means that I have now finished the first book of this readathon, and I have also made significant progress with my #readASOIAF readathon. 30 pages shouldn’t have taken as long as it did, but i’m done and I can go to bed early ready for an early start and a friend’s visit.

Challenges

Today’s book related challenge has been held by The Nickster and is a mix’n’match word play challenge. I always find these a little more difficult and cumbersome than book cover or selection ones, but I have given it a go anyhow. The challenge is as follows:

Pick out 10-15 books from your shelf, from your local library, or from a local bookstore. They can be any genre, any language, and any length. In each book, flip to a random page and pick the 1st word (articles such as “the”, “and”, “an”, “or”, etc. don’t count as the 1st word). Use all these 1st words to try to create an actual sentence. If the books are in different languages, feel free to translate them to all one language or leave them as they are! also, you can add in some articles, such as “the”, “and”, “an”, “or”, etc., if you want to make the sentence flow better.

Seems simple enough?!

WP_20160823_18_30_19_Pro

  1. First
  2. old
  3. man
  4. sat
  5. think
  6. dark
  7. about
  8. more
  9. idea
  10. ridge

The first old man sat to think more about an idea on the dark ridge

I did not do badly there, even if I do say so myself!

Overall

Today has been distinctly more successful than yesterday. OK, so I started this book a long time before Bout of Books 17 started, but I have been reading it for ages so I am glad to see it go to read on my Goodreads profile finally!! I’ve done the challenge again today, and even though it was word based I quite enjoyed it. I’m going to try and remember to pack Part 2 of ASoS so that I can crack on with it during the lulls and the breaks at work.

How is you readathon going? If you want to join up too, you can do here until midday tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

