#readASOIAF: I was doing so well…

asoiaf booksI started out so well friends, and then, well, I halted. I haven’t come to a complete reading stand still, but it sure feels like it. I was flying through the books, I was way ahead of schedule and had days to play with, to do things, to spend not reading. And then suddenly, sure enough, I began to notice I was not reading as much, and I was behind on a page or two, and then a chapter or two.Β 

I took a nice amount of time to read the first book. My reading pace ebbed and flowed with things that I was going, and leaving month one, I was slightly ahead of schedule. Going into the second book, I stalled a little watching TV and working a lot of over time. Once work quietened down, and I realised my holiday was fast approaching, I raced through the second book and the first half of A Storm of Swords super quickly.

And then I went to Zimbabwe, and Zambia, and South Africa, and the reading all but stopped dead. I have probably only read 150 pages in 4 weeks. This is a woeful speed for the read ASOIAF readathon. I ma now really quite behind, and in need of catching up before I fall so far behind that I give up all together.

I have decided I am going to set some goals to help with the readathon:

  1. Use my Bout of Books readathon week to boost my reading efforts and provide some help in getting back on track with #readASOIAF.
  2. Start using the #readASOIAF bubble Tracker, and actually work out roughly how many pages I need to be reading to keep on track with the readathon aspirations I set out at the beginning (as shown spectacularly by the lovely Emma here)
  3. Read. Actually stop doing pointless procrastination and pick up my books and read.

This all seems simple enough right? I’ll keep you posted!

4 thoughts on “#readASOIAF: I was doing so well…

  1. Hey, don’t beat yourself up on the reading pace for A Song of Ice and Fire. It’s not like the author is racing to provide you more books anytime soon.

    Did you finish the first half of A Storm of Swords? The collected parts of Book 3 is so great, *especially* the second half.

    Good luck to you in keeping on with the series.

    Like

    • That is a very good point, I never though about it like that! I know that if I lose momentum I will put the series down, and I don’t want to do that as I am enjoying it!!
      I am about 50 pages from the end of Part 1, maybe Part 2 will spark a quicker reading pace!
      Thanks πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re very welcome!

        I know what you mean about momentum. When I first picked up A Game of Thrones, it took me 4 attempts to read it. (I bought it at an airport, read a bunch on the flight, put it down. Years later picked it back up, started re-reading, got distracted, put it down. That happened again (I had to keep starting from the begining) then finally I committed, and once I was deep in, I was so mad at myself for not finishing it years before.)

        Like

      • That is exactly what I don’t want to do. This readathon has helped somewhat in my aim to keep reading them, but there is nothing worse than putting a book down, and having to restart it, the motivation and momentum has just evaporated by that point!
        I am enjoying it though, I flew through the second book because of how into it I was. Hopefully I will find that groove again!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

