(A very, very late) Top Ten Tuesday: The reason I love Children’s Books

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a regular blog posting event about everything books ran by the lovely folks at Broke and Bookish. Top Ten Tuesday became a regular blogging event for me while I travelled the world, and took my blog from being one long travel-themed stream to being a more rounded version of my interests, like and dislikes (along with bout of books of course)

I forgot to post this on Tuesday before I fell asleep, sorry!!

I’ve recently sorted my house out so that more of my stuff is ordered and away, And this included my DVD and book shelves. It made me look at my books and think hard about what I like in a book, what I’ve read, and what authors i like etc etc. So this week’s theme ‘The Reason I love X’ could not have come at a better time.

I ended up separating my adult books from my children’s books, and it made me look at my children’s books a little closer. It also made me realise that my favourite books and authors (with the exception of To Kill a Mockingbird) are written for children. This theme was made for this realisation. So here we go:

  1. Everyday inanimate objects, places, and things become extraordinary (A wardrobe The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.)
  2. Characters are more intelligent (Matilda in Matilda)
  3. Characters are more compassionate (Sophie in The BFG)
  4. Characters are more brave (Katniss in The Hunger Games)
  5. They take problems in their stride and deal with them better than any adult (Harry Potter)
  6. They make the impossible possible (Magic in Harry Potter, Talking Animals in Beatrix Potter).
  7. Magical creatures become everyday (dragons, unicorns, trolls)
  8. Other realms are totally possible (His Dark Materials)
  9. Children regularly save the day, the world, the universe.
  10. All of this happens, and is possible, and school is still attended, exams still sat, and homework submitted.

I could go on an on about the magic, wonder, and brilliance of children’s literature. To quote CS Lewis, one of the greatest Children’s authors ever:

“A children’s story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children’s story in the slightest.”

What are you top ten things in literature? It’s hard to choose!

One thought on “(A very, very late) Top Ten Tuesday: The reason I love Children’s Books

Leave a Reply

