Tag: 3 Days 3 Quotes: Day Three

I was tagged by Emma from The Terror of Knowing to do the 3 Days 3 Quotes tag/challenge/meme/thing! This will be the first real tag/meme/activity that is not a readathon that I have ever been tagged in. Well, that I have ever been tagged in and decided to participate. Day Two’s post can be found here.

I am going to try and dive into the quote a little each day. It probably won’t be the most in depth of sensical (is this a word?) analysis of some words you will ever see, but it might give you a bit of insight into my mind, and how different quotes appeal to me.

My quote for day two comes from the mysterious nobody J.W. Eagan:

Never judge a book by its movie

I’ve chosen this quote because it is scarily applicable in this day and age. It’s not a favourite quote of mine, but it does sum up something I, and many people, are very guilty of. I don’t actually know who Eagan is, and am not sure the internet does, but this quote does encompass something many people in the modern age do.

I definitely judge a book based on the movie, especially if I have never read the book, or only find out that the story is based on a novel when I go to see it. It’s not always a bad thing. I expect more of a film if the word’s ”based on a novel” appear in the opening credits, and I vow to never read the book, or anything by the author, if I see those words during the end credits and I haven’t enjoyed the film.

I do think this quite also works in reverse. For us book worms and reading nerds, we are also guilty of judging and expecting things from movies based on it’s book. And while there is no greater feeling than seeing your favourite stories immortalised on screen as well, we often place extraordinary pressure on film makers to reproduce the magic we felt when we read the story for the first time.

There we go, I’ve completed the tag, and enjoyed it immensely!

I Tag:
I’m terrible with tagging people so I apologise if I pick you and you have already done it or don’t want to do it, but for the sake of sticking to the rules I hereby tag:

You. All of you. Anyone who read, or blogs, or fancies it. I tag all of you!

Leave a Reply

