Bout of Books 16: Day 3

Bout of Books 16I finally have a day off, and of course it’s raining, Glorious weather all weekend when I was stuck in the office, and when it gets to my time off the downpours begin. Absolutely typical. The rain and the time should make for good reading and sorting conditions, so lets see what I can get done.

Updates

11:48am: I got up unashamedly late today. I went to bed and just slept until I didn’t need to sleep anymore. Yes, that was 12hours, but after the days in work and the early starts, I think I needed it. Now to get some productive things done before the football this evening.

15:05pm: Youtube has captured me…again. It is becoming a bad habit to watch nonsense on there. I have read a chapter of Summer of Love, but a single chapter is a bit pathetic considering how much time I have had to do something other than peruse Youtube.

17:45pm: I’ve given up any pretence of being productive to the level I want to. I’ve driven to my parents, I’ve got pizza and nachos, and I’ve settled in with the nail varnish and the football. Sometimes you have to know when you’re not going to get anything done.

22:21pm: I’m watching highlights of a match that was rubbish waiting for my parents to get home from the ground and waiting for my nail varnish to dry #priorities. No reading, no sorting, no cleaning.

23:59pm: I read another chapter of One With You, I’m around about the half way mark. Game of Thrones is still such a non-started, I don’t know what is wrong with me. Why can’t I get into it??!!

Challenge

Today’s challenge is a personal choice Top 5. I tpyed with doing a few here, books by an author, murder mysteries, detective, complete series, but I ended up opting for my Top 5 Favourite Children’s Books. Now, a little disclaimer when you look at this list, I have included books in a series under one, e.g. J K Rowling’s Harry Potter, or we would just have a list of those!

  1. Harry Potter Series by J K Rowling: I don’t really think this needs explaining. It is by far the best series I have ever read, and is by far my favourite literary world. Everything about Harry Potter is magical. It was a large part of my child hood and actually remains something I love as I have entered my twenties. I grew up with these books as the characters grew up, and I eagerly awaited the release of the later novels. It will never be topped as my favourite series, but I’d like to read the series that will try.
  2. The BFG by Roald Dahl: As with Harry Potter, I like the magic and the other worldy nature of the BFG. But the real power in this story is the unusual and beautiful friendship of the BFG and Sophie. I loved reading this book under the cover hoping the BFG would appear at me window. Definitely my favourite autobiography of all time too.
  3. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: This is on the list not as the series, but as the first book. It took the world by storm as both the novel and the film, but it wasn’t the pleasant surprise of having a powerful female lead character that drew me in. It was the cut throat story and unique take on a non-adult book that made it a good read for me.
  4. A Tale of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket: In a similar vain to The Hunger Games, it was refreshing to read such a dismal sad story. Normally these would not be two words you strive to use to describe a series of books, but the negativity was so powerful and unusual for children’s books that I couldn’t help but really enjoy them.
  5. Matilda by Roald Dahl: As a self confessed book geek, a non-girly girl, and someone who enjoyed school, it is easy why I loved Matilda. As a character she was someone who you could want to be both for her special abilities and her normal ones, and as a book, it was a great tale.

Overall

Well, today was a bust. I did nothing, except paint my nails, and I had a poor reading day. I think I was just due a day doing, well, nothing!

2 thoughts on “Bout of Books 16: Day 3

  1. Sometimes you just have to have a non-productive day off, it’s downright necessary. Gotta love a bit of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket too! 😉

    Like

    • When you have a lot to do, a non-productive day never feels like the right course of action, even if it was probably needed and long over-due!

      Oh yeah, gotta love a bit of Roald Dahl, to be fair, if it had been a Top 10, it would have featured another 3 or 5 of his books!

      Like

Leave a Reply

