Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

I’m writing his in bed with a sore, sore foot in sunny Charlotte, North Carolina. Aside from grits, and learning to say y’all, we’ve had a short stay here that has been interesting. We’ve seen a lot of the place, more than many of the locals will have I am sure, but we’re ready to leave already. It’s getting hotter the further south we go, I think it might start to peak as we hit Atlanta and Montgomery.

No matter where we are, however, I am determined to keep up with Top Ten Tuesday. I’m sure you get how it goes by now, so this week’s theme is Top Ten Hyped Books We’ve Never Read. There are lots of hyped books, old and new, that I have never read, and probably never will read, so I am mixing old and new hypes with this one!

  1. The Fault in Our Stars  John Green: Everyone was talking about this one a couple of years back, but it doesn’t sound like my cup of tea. Even though it has been made into a film, I don’t think it will ever enter my TBR.
  2. Noughts and Crosses Malorie Blackman: Unlike Fault in Our Stars, I do actually want to read this book. It has been hyped for a while now, it won countless awards 10 years ago, and has been rewritten for production by the RSC.
  3. The Goldfinch Donna Tartt: I saw a lot of people with this book on the train and bus before I left England, and on all the bookshelves of must-read book sections in the shops, and of course, as a Pulitzer prize winner. Despite this, I know next to nothing about the book or why it is so hyped.
  4. The Great Gatsby F Scott Fitzgerald: I have little interest to read this book after I saw the Leo DiCaprio movie adaptation, and after all the hype, I’m probably never going to read and enjoy it.
  5. A Game of Thrones George R R Martin: I know, this is not a good one to admit that I have never even picked up. But I haven’t, and this will change when I get home, but for now, A Song of Fire and Ice is the most hyped book series around now that I haven’t picked up.
  6. The Cuckoo’s Calling Robert Galbraith: Mum and Dad both think I would love this book, and when everyone found out that it was J K Rowling, it was one of the most hyped books out there for a few weeks. I probably should read this at some point.
  7. The Book Thief Markus Zusak: Not only so I want to read this, I probably should have already, but I have never actually got round to it. Now as I want to see the film, I need to read the book first.
  8. The Kite Runner Khaled Hosseini: Yet another book that has been hyped for a decade and that I have never read despite the best intentions to pick it up. One day I will get round to it.
  9. Wuthering Heights Emily Bronte: I’m really not sure that I know anything about this except that blooming Kate Bush song, but if there is anything that will put you off reading a hyped book, it is that, right?
  10. The Help Kathryn Stockett: I think the film is probably more hyped than the book, but I want and need to read them both, hyped or not, so I chucked it on here too.

What hyped books, modern or classic, have you never read?

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

Leave a Reply

