Bout of Books 13 – Day 2

BOBToday, Jade and I said goodbye to Sydney and drove to the Blue Mountains. Lots of driving and walking have severly reduced potential reading time. Now as we are back to the driving and are no longer relying on public transport like we did in Sydney, I can’t just sit and read while we go to places.

Update

I have finished Treasure Island. I wont say I am disappointed, because I really enjoyed it. That said, it wasn’t as good as I thought it was going to be. I haven’t read many pirate books, but I have seen a fair few pirate films (my favourite of all time is Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl) so I definitely thought it could have been better. Maybe it was just how it was written, but it didn’t really excite me, I just happily enjoyed it.

I’ve also restarted Frankenstein. I am determined to get past the letters and into the main body of the book this time round as nothing much happens in the epistolary section. I really need to get an e-copy of the BFG. I have an awesome 3 in 1 Dahl collection at home which I could have read for this if I wasn’t here, but as I am, I need to get a copy compatible with my devices. I am sure once I have a copy, I will fly through it.

I may have put a Harriet Evans book on my readathon list, but I am suddenly not as keen on reading it. I don’t know why, but when (if) it gets to the point where I am to start it, I may have to switch it out for another one. We shall see when the time comes.

Challenges

Todays challenge has been set by Lulo Fangirl, and is a difficult one: a character face-off.

I have chosen two of my favourite characters from litrature. They are not my favourite ever characters, but they do often get compared, and so I thought I would add my opinions into the mix.

Albus Dumbledore (Harry Potter Series) vs Gandalf (Lord of the Rings)

For me, they are both extraordinary wizards, literature legends, and grow some of the best facial hair that has ever been written about. They are similar characteristically in many more ways than their beards, but for me, Gandalf is the winner.

I can’t explain it any other way than if I had to pick one to be on my team in a fight/duel it would be Gandalf.

Leave a Reply

