Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I will probably never read

toptentuesdayI have had a little break from Top Ten Tuesday while I was in Brisbane last week. I had a lot of things to do, and I had a lot of catching up to do on my travel blog posts, so I thought I would get back on the TTT horse this week. It’s still going to be short and sweet though, I am racing the free WiFi allowance in McDonalds!

This week’s Top Ten is books I will probably never read, an interesting one from the folks at Broke and Bookish. I don’t actually know if there are any, but I am going try anyway:

  1. The Silmarillian by  J R R Tolkien
  2. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang by Ian Fleming
  3. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  5. Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  6. The War of the Worlds by H G Wells
  7. The Fault in our Stars by John Green
  8. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
  9. Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  10. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time

What books will you probably never read? When you think about it, do you suddenly have an urge to read all the books you could put on the list just to annoy your past inner self? No? Just me then? OK.

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I will probably never read

  1. It’s weird that even given my literary allegiances and what I *have* read… I don’t really argue with any of your choices much. My initial instinct is to say “yeah fair enough”, especially on War and Peace because wow that is a tome. And I have to admit I didn’t think much of Curious Incident, I wonder if it was because of the hype surrounding it that I just found it a bit… ok but not SPECTACULAR like everyone was claiming it was.

    But, I realise I do have a strange urge to tell you to read Lord of the Flies. I’m not sure where that comes from. I read it for GCSE Lit and found it a strangely good read considering we were analysing it to death – seriously, I could still write the “Simon is Jesus” paragraph to this day, including remembering all the quotes that evidence it. 😛 In its favour though, I remember it being a relatively short and easy read. And it unsettled me that I completely believed that yeah this is definitely an accurate picture of what would happen if you left a group of schoolboys on an island. Idk if any of that speaks in its favour but I’ve managed to convince myself I should give it a re-read, haha.

    Like

    • In fairness to all the books on there, it is in no way a reflection on the books themselves. Many of them I have thought I might read at some point, some of them were ‘craze’ books and I simply didn’t read them when it was fashionable to do so, and now as the time has passed, I don’t think I ever will.

      We’ll see.

      Like

Leave a Reply

