Top Ten Tuesday: Top Inspiring Quotes from Books

toptentuesdayAs we have a little down time after a busy 10 days in Perth and Margaret River, I’m finally sitting back down to write the posts I am behind on, and sort the photos that still sit on memory cards. I missed last weeks Top Ten Tuesday, so while I take a break from writing about my adventures, I thought I would complete this week’s list.

Broke and Bookish set some awesome Top Tens, but I think that this weeks is my favourite so far: Top Inspiring Quotes from Books:

  1. ‘All that is gold does not glitter, not all those who wander are lost.’ J.R.R. Tolkien in The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring.
  2. ‘It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that.’ J.K. Rowling in Harry Potter and The Philospher’s Stone.
  3. ‘Never do anything by halves if you want to get away with it. Be outrageous. Go the whole hog.’ Roald Dahl in Matilda.
  4. ‘Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing.’ Harper Lee in To Kill a Mockingbird.
  5. ‘You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose.’ Dr. Seuss in Oh the Places You’ll Go.
  6. ‘The moment where you doubt whether you can fly, you cease ever being able to do it.’ J.M. Barrie in Peter Pan.
  7. ‘Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.’ Roald Dahl in The Minpins
  8. ‘You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.’ A.A. Milne in Winnie the Pooh.
  9. ‘Ever tried. Ever failed. No Matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.’ Samuel Beckett in Worstward Life.
  10. ‘In dreams, we enter a world that’s entirely our own.’ J.K. Rowling in Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban

Which book quotes are your favourite? Do we match?

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Inspiring Quotes from Books

  1. Ohh this is a good topic, I love ones like this! 🙂 Unsurprisingly I agree with all your quotes. I think my favourite one from Harry Potter though might just be: “If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.”

    Hope you’re well on your travels! x

    Like

      • I think the reason I’d call it inspirational is because… it sounds silly considering it’s such a simple sentiment but it was an idea that, at that age, I hadn’t really thought about!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah i kind of get what you mean. The problem (and I use that loosely) with Harry Potter is that there are a lot of those pesky inspirational quotes littered across all of the books!

        Like

Leave a Reply

