Making up for Monday

button_zpsf54ece10It has been a while since I have done this because my Monday’s haven’t needed making up for, but as I sit in a hotel lobby because our pick-up is now not leaving until 3 hours after it’s scheduled time, I have decided to rekindle it, because why not?This weeks question is Do you have a favourite biographical or autobiographical book?

I haven’t read many biographies or autobiographies aside from Liverpool ones I have received as presents. They have actually been pretty good, so I would probably say my favourite was Steven Gerrard’s autobiography.

I have a book called By Any Means by Charley Boorman (who completed the Long Way Round and Long Way Down with Ewan McGregor). It is a sort of autobiography/account of his time travelling by any means necessary from his hometown in Ireland to Sydney. It was a really good TV show and a fascinating read, and has sparked a lot of my desires to travel less travelled routes.

Technically, although it is a fictional novel, The B.F.G is an autobiographical piece. It is one of my favourite and most cherished books from my childhood, and is definitely one of my favourite books, never mind autobiographical books, that I have ever read.

And then there is my favourite book, To Kill a Mockingbird. Although Harper Lee has quite clearly stated that it is not an autobiography, the autobiographical elements make is a worthy contender to answer this question. She herself has admitted that an author ‘should write about what he knows and write truthfully’ so it is without question that the book holds many key events and people that were important to Lee as thinly veiled plot points in her book.

Leave a Reply

